One Fight Too Many (Broken Nose) Freewrite Story

in Freewriters4 years ago

That's it, broken, like a boxer who's had one fight too many.

"How did that happen?"

Because, last night, I was a boxer who had one fight too many.

3572774_M.jpg

It started, just as I closed my eyes. I was training in the old gym, alone. Everyone else had gone, but I wanted some extra practice.

It was peaceful and tranquil in a way.

But I heard a sound. It sounded like some wood had fallen to the ground.

Was it the cleaner?

It was the cleaner.

That was until he put everything down and put on some boxing gloves.

*Come on," he said.

I got into the ring. One punch later, I was on the floor.

That was it. The moment I realised that I was not going to make it as a boxer. My one fight too many had come in the training gym, with the cleaner

But that's not really the story. That was the dream that made me realise that I was in the right place with the wrong path.

The next morning, I went to back to the gym.

"Where's the cleaner?" I asked.

"There he is."

I approached him.

*What's your story?" I asked.

"I clean."

"Any other hidden talents?"

The cleaner stood silent.

"When everyone has gone, you can show me," I said.

I know in my wisdom, that I better use a headguard.

That was three years ago. In a few moments, my fighter will be making the walk to the ring for his world title fight. I hope I've prepared him well.

4165690_M.jpg

Thank you for reading. Inspired by watching Rocky movies. What's wrong with that?

Freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest