When The Salons Were All Shut

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

“What on earth is a widow’s peak?” I asked.

I got told.

No wonder I didn’t know. I’ve got no hair. What I do have is taken by a Grade 0.5 shave.

That said, the world has been in lockdown and I haven’t had a haircut for a while. A bit like my younger days, but with a few exceptions.

It has turned white. Not grey, but white.

But white is cool and it is better than grey.

Yes, there are some bald areas at the top of my head. But I’m not going out much.

I buy hair gel for the Zoom meetings and I have a cap for when I can get out for a walk.

The hair gel was cheap and red. I could have bought green or blue, but I went for red. How Jim Morrison ended up on the tub, I don’t know. I’m not sure, if he’s looking down on me, that he would be very happy about it.

But, I’m buying some cheap hair gel.

The best is yet to come.

“My hair has gone red.”

It must have been the hair gel. What shall I do?

“I’m going to carry on using the hair gel. Make my head go even more red. Then I’ll buy some blue gel and my hair will turn purple. This is great. It’s like I’m a young punk agan. This is going to be a great summer.”

Twenty four hours later, I hear that salons are open again. Another hour later, I’ve been and gone and had a grade 0.5 all over.

The reality is, I didn’t look like a young punk. I didn’t even look like an old punk. I looked like somebody who just really needed to have a good spruce up.

It’s strange to have no hair again to manage but it is nice to feel the wind.

I have aspirations.

I want to be a judge so that I can wear one of those big white wigs. It’s just a shame that I don’t care much for justice.

sign-2507732_1280.jpg
Pixabay

A freewrite, prompt by @mariannewest

Sort:  

Very funny! thanks for the laughs.
Use purple gel the next time - it makes white hair even whiter, or so I have been told.

I'll be back later with today's prompt!

Thank you, green might be good.

Congratulations @mr-neil! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 750 posts. Your next target is to reach 800 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I'm here to deliver the Tuesday prompt so please write us another!

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-969-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-forest

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!