5 minute freeewrite Sunday prompt nobody knows

in Freewriterslast year

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Sunday prompt nobody knows hosted by @mariannewest

About an hour after I made yesterday's post, we got our first Quail egg, my husband found it. I went out there first thing this morning, looking for another one, but nothing was there. All day I kept checking on them and looking for another egg. But nothing was layed.

Every Sunday my husband goes to his sister's house, and his brother also goes there. He does not get home until 4:30 or 5 o'clock. I checked the quail at 4:00 O' clock and there was no new egg.

My husband comes home at 4:30 and he comes in the house carrying another egg. Nobody knows how frustrated I felt. I wanted to collect an egg. I guess they are just laying for him. He is the one that feeds them so I guess that is why they wait for him to be there.

image.png

For them being such little birds, they can sure poo a lot. My husband cleaned this this morning, I took the picture 4 hours later.

image.png

My husband put big tote lids under the cage to catch the poo. He made it so they would overhang the edge of the cage. He had to suspend the lids under the cage because the first thing the dogs wanted to do was roll in the poop.

image.png

How in the world do they poop on the floor? Do they back their rears up to the wire and let it fly? It should land on one of the lids under the cage if they are pooping normally.

image.png
This is the little male, I refuse to call him a little cock. I have not figured out a proper name for him, but as much as he poops, I am thinking little shit might be a good name for him.

After we have eaten some of their eggs, I would like to let one set on a nest and have babies. But my husband does not want to raise babies, he says that he does not think he could kill them to eat.

We used to raise ducks to eat and we also had guineas that we raised for food, but now that he has gotten older he has also gotten softer towards living things.

Photos are mine

Sort:  

I have a hard time eating critters I've grown attached to. You'll have to let us know what you decide to name the male.

My husband used to harvest animals for our food but since he has gotten older he has become soft with them. We will not be eating the quail. I think Little Shit is a good name for him. Or Little-Shits-A-Lot.
!ALIVE
!LOL

It is raining so hard we may need an Ark
Luckily I Noah guy.

Credit: happyme
@scribblingramma, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @myjob

(1/1)

PLAY & EARN $DOOM

@scribblingramma! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (5/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 149 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
9

Thank you @pixresteemer
!ALIVE


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

May I suggest "rotisserie" as a name for the quail cockerel?

That might be better than Little Shit. We had a turkey named Dinner.