5 minute freewrite Friday prompt richest people

in Freewriters2 years ago

DSC03995.JPG
This is my post for #freewriters Friday prompt richest people hosted by @mariannewest

In 2013 my youngest son fished with me, this was the year that mullet stayed on shallow water, too shallow for a boat to run. On this shallow water and a clear sky, it was impossible for someone to get up on them, even rowing. They would run from you and having to throw a cast net, no one was catching them.

I took my son with me and had him wade throwing a 9-foot cast net. Other people tried this but they could not catch much, even my husband. I joked that it was because he was tall and thin, he looked like a pylon and the fish would swim close to him.

DSC03970.JPG

It also helped that he wore dark clothes and had a sunblocking clothe that went over his face, he would wade out close to the fish then wait on them to get close before throwing the net.

DSC03975.JPG

This year, when it came to catching roe mullet, my son and I were the two richest people on the entire east coast of Florida. We were catching 800 to 1000 pounds of mullet a day.

I paid him a third of our weekly catch, I forget how much we were getting per pound. This is how fishermen have always split their catches with someone who helps them. The captain gets 1/3 the boat gest 1/3 and the help gets 1/3. The top picture was my son's pay for one week.

All pictures were taken by me

Sort:  

Wow! Real money made from real hard work ... and, the insight into how things are paid adds perspective!

Thanks, I have been blessed to have a job that I love.

That is indeed a blessing!

Hell of a payday, that.

Before the net ban, my husband and I each made a set on roe mullet, that day we made a little over 10 thousand dollars. He had close to 7 thousand pounds of fish and I had close to 5. A set is when you run your net around fish, He set his net first and I went just north of him and set mine. I wish that I had a video of it, fish were flying out of the water by the hundreds. This was our biggest payday ever.

So profitable indeed. A very sweet mode of making cool cash. I could actually help you so as to make money too. 🥰🙈

Yes, it is a good honest way of making a living.

Very true. Thanks for the feedback