5 minute freewrite Monday prompt murder

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
I copied this image from https://pixabay.com/images/search/weeds/
This is my post for #freewriters Monday prompt murder hosted by @mariannewest

I do not like this prompt and really do not wish to write about it. The thought of someone doing this to another person hurts me to the core. I am going to write about another type of murder, that is if it is even murder, we may never know.

I see weeds growing in my garden and without a second thought, I reach down and yank them out of the ground. Did I just murder that weed? In the plant community, did it have a name, a partner, and was it about to give birth with its seeds? "They," say that some plants communicate by their roots. Just because we can not hear them does not mean that they do not talk or have feelings. Who are we to think that we can kill all other things except our own kind?

I know that we have to kill in order to eat and survive, it is just the way things are. The people who do not eat meat because they can not stand the thought of killing an animal do not give a second thought to eating a plant. Some will eat meat but see nothing wrong with eating fish. Fish to me are like plants, who are we to say they do not have feelings?

Sometimes I get too much into my head. But I would rather do that than write some gorry story about murder.

Sort:  

There are so many ways to look at it. Is weeding defense of your crop, or herbal genocide? Have you considered which "weeds" might actually be edible? Is there a benefit to allowing portions of your garden to go fallow for a season and letting some weeds take over? Is there a better way to garden that is more in tune with the harmony of nature?

I'm good at asking questions. Not so good at providing answers.

I have the same problem, asking but not solving. I do know which ones are edible and which ones will take over the entire yard.

That’s funny, and true, too. WEEDS, 😆 Hahaaaaa
I don’t eat meat because I can’t stand the thought of growing animals via forced farming then eating them, but AI do eat fish (sometimes) as long as it’s “wild caught “. But, but...I love your point ❤️💕❤️💕

Thank you for reading and understanding. I fish for a living and can not think about the killing part, I try to focus on feeding people who can not fish for themselves.