5 minute freewrite Saturday prompt dictionary

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Saturday prompt dictionary hosted by @mariannewest

Today is my birthday, I made it to 66, I know it is hard to believe but I did it. My daughter and granddaughter came today and brought me this echo dot for my birthday, a beautiful card, and a cake.

I have heard of Alexa but I have not really wanted one, if you haven't heard of it, it is a little electric ball that you can ask any question, it can remind you of appointments, and tell lame jokes, which I find so dumb that they are funny. It can tell me how bad the traffic is to get to any store or I guess anywhere I want to go. There is no need for a dictionary or even good old google for that fact, this thing knows it all.

We played a game with it, which I had my doubts about but we did it and it was fun. It was a game where it played a tune from 70s music and we had to guess the band and song title. My daughter and I tied, and my 21-year-old granddaughter lost with only getting 1 song, only because it was her favorite band, Queen. I know it was not fair for us to choose 70s music but hey, it's my birthday. I would have lost if we would have chose any music after the 1980s.

My daughter says that it can even turn on and off the lights, I am not sure how it can do that, I asked it and it told me that it did not find a group like that so it must be something that I will need to program in. I am thinking that I will just leave it be and use it to remind me of my appointments or other things that I need to do like phone calls to make. I am bad about forgetting things that I need to do, so I think this will be helpful.

You know you are old when you need a little electric ball to remind you of what needs to be done.

photo is mine

Sort:  

Happy birthday! Have some !PIZZA

I very much doubt your house is wired with a smart lighting system, so your dot will not have anything to talk to in order to control anything.

So that is the problem, thank you for explaining that to me.

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@jacobtothe(1/10) tipped @myjob (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Congratulations on reaching 66, my grandfather always said that every age has its advantages and that there were things he could do that a guy in his twenties couldn't do.

Thank you, I just wish that I could do the things that I did in my 40s. Your grandfather sounds like a smart man.

!BEER

thank you


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.