5 minute freewrite Tuesday prompt family gathering

in Freewriters2 years ago

image.png
This is my post for #freewriters Tuesday prompt family gathering hosted by @mariannewest

Growing up every Sunday my Dad closed down his bar and store and we drove to his mother's house to spend the day and have dinner with her. Of course, we spent birthdays and holidays there. After she passed I think my dad lost a piece of himself. I did not understand this back then but now after losing him and now my mom, understand how important these family gatherings were to him.
Before my mom passed we would have family gatherings for any reason, she loved to eat fish and always wanted to have a fish fry. Even though we gathered at her house for birthdays and Thanksgiving,

image.png

Christmas was her day. She went all out for it. Her house looked like it came out of a magazine, inside and out. The entire family was always there. I did not get this trait from her but my youngest sister did. She started decorating in October. It was a more spiritual thing with her, also her firstborn was born on Christmas day.

I now feel like I have dropped the ball. Life is more complicated, when I say that, it sounds like an excuse, but we just do not get together as my parents did with their parents and the things they did for their children. I know it is not too late to change this but when you have kids that live far away and you have some that spend the day with their spouse's parents, I hate to ask them to spend time at my house, too because I feel that they will feel rushed and have to choose which parent they are going to have dinner with. Like I said it is complicated. I wish my dad was still here and could tell me what I am going to do.

Sort:  

Our Heavenly Father may have some wisdom for these complicated times ... things have changed so much in the last 40-50 years with our families...

I have guilt for not being like my parents.

That can be tough ... a lot of us go through this ...

!BEER


Hey @myjob, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

If you like BEER and want to support us please consider voting @louis.witness on HIVE and on HIVE Engine.