5 minute freewrite Wednesday prompt red fox

in Freewriters2 years ago

IMG_20211201_072309_5.jpg
This is my post for #freewriters Wednesday prompt red fox hosted by @mariannewest

The weather has been bad so we have not been able to fish, it laid down yesterday but I had an appointment. Today we finally got to go. My husband had his surgery on Oct. 11. Since then we have caught 6 pounds of pompano, worth 36 dollars.

It is a good thing that we do not live beyond our means, the only bills that we have are light bills, car insurance, internet, and cable tv.

Today we put the boat in here and ran to the inlet. We covered all of the inlet banks and never saw a pompano. We went back to the boat ramp and pulled out. We drove 40 miles south and put the boat back over at Round Island.

IMG_20211201_091703_2.jpg
We went north to the Morrings and saw nothing so we turned south and ran almost to Fort Pierce inlet. We skipped one on the west shore and anchored but the pickers were so bad that we could not keep a bait on. We went back north.

IMG_20211201_095218_1.jpg
He usually stands to drive

IMG_20211201_093245_8.jpg
But we have been doing so much running that he sat down to drive.

IMG_20211201_123453_8.jpg

We skipped one back north of Round Island and anchored, it was not long and I caught him. The pickers were bad here, too. My husband would bait a rod and throw it out, pick up the next one and do the same. He went from rod to rod doing this and cussing the pickers the entire time. He was so mad that he made my stomach hurt. When I caught the one he says, "do you know what this means?" I said no, he says "you paid for 4 gallons of gas". This is what makes me upset, he could have said at least we got one and it helps with some of the fuel. I now know how Red Foxx felt when he held his hand over his chest and said "I coming Elizabeth".

All pictures were taken by me

Sort:  

I'm glad you two were able to get out in the boat again. Sorry the catch was so small.

Yes, it was nice but we really need to catch something.