TRUE STORY ( EPISODE 3)

in Freewriters3 years ago

For the previous story TRUE STORY (EPISODE 2) , read for understanding..
images (6).jpeg

"Good morning sir" she greeted
"Goooood..... Morrrning" I replied without looking up, stressing the words slowly with rhythm to how I was typing.
"Have your sit" I said as I finally look up
I don't know why but I feel comfortable and my heartbeat didn't increase or reduce this time around, maybe it's cos I feel superior because I'm in my office though,or maybe because I just finished talking to my wife..yeah, talking to someone you love when you're at work relieves you.
She sat gently on the nearest of the two chairs on the other side of my table, wow, she's in her best of manners, well I'm not surprised shaa, that's how others behaved too, it very much pretty understandable the way people will dress very simple and cooperate and behave in a very composed manner when they are going for job interviews and while they are being interviewed.
One of the ladies I just interviewed few minutes was forming accent, ah , I was shocked, I was laughing so hard inside of me as Ijebu was 'smelling and peeping' out of her British accent 😂 ,Chai all these Ijebu babes ehn 😂, well, but of course I didn't burst it out.
"Your name" I requested as take glance at her, she dressed simply very well, a white sleeved top sleeve top tucked properly into a red skirt and a tiny white girls-belt ,and black girl-shoes, dressed exactly the way Peju my Assistant dressed ah, this girl really mean business o, she's dressed like an account already, you know how all these Mountain of Fire Choir girls use to dress
She applied simple make and I unconsciously noticed she wasn't wearing any ring.
"Bernard Funmilayo Olaitan" she replied
I could sense anxiety in her voice "Calm down ma'am, it's a job interview not judgement day" I joked same way I've been telling the previous candidates and she smiled just like the rest.
Good, I just know the best way to calm them down, I understand how they are feeling at that time and a bit of friendliness from me is all they need.
"Bernarrrd Fun...mi..la...yo" i stressed
"I hope you'll bring Ayo to our company and our Ola will not finish as your name implies" I joked again
Blowing air through her nose in the name of smiling she managed to reply "Yes sir"
Surfing through the papers I can feel her eyes pinned on me, or maybe she's doubting I might be the one, or maybe she knew already, or maybe she's not sure... Maybe.. Just maybe.
Why can't she recognise me, abi that girl I left at home has fed me fat true true as she claimed last night?, no it can't be, I'm still tall and slim na, even my friends call me "Slimmy",or maybe it's my cheeks, yeah I was told even my by workers that I've grown cheeks ever since I married 7months ago... "Chai, Walahi oga I don fat foh mouth o" the Aboki Gateman told me few days ago "Kai, Walahi madam I take care of me well well fah" he concluded rubbing hands on his cheeks.
"Yes, found ya!" I exclaimed fishing out her files, picked it up to her face "Is this you?"
"Yes sir" she replied with her eyes flashing from the paper to my eyes.
"Okay, I was nearly doubting, cos people do look less of the beauty they are in the passports but you look take away here" I flirted and she smiled again.
"Okay, let's see what we've got here" I said staring at the paper in front of me.
I wasn't really reading anything on her credentials, I was thinking of the possible question I should ask her, many craz.y ideas ran through my head.
I have some set of questions I do ask applicants for each post but I decided not to use any of them.
I want to be a little be tricky, so I can tell my wife at home it's not my fault if later I dont hire her.
👇 👇
*Why does everybody dance with the main character in Indian films and then pretend like nothing happened?
*How old was Mary when she gave birth to Jesus ?
*Sing the Nigerian National anthem in Hausa
*Name two friends Adam visited when the snake took Eve to lunch
*How many legs did the snake have before God punish.ed him ?
*How old was God when he decided to create the earth?
*You couldn't be loyal and keep me, so what makes you think you'll be loyal and keep this job ?😂
*How many times has Buhari travelled to London since 2019?
*Who was the first Assistant Financial Secretary in Germany?
👆 👆
Those were the ideas popping into my head to ask, as I stare at her credentials as she sat there anxiously looking at me waiting for the next thing I'll do. Silence filled the office, only the sound of the standing fan can be heard.

images (6).jpeg

Funmilayo's POV
From the time the CEO we've been waiting for came, " Oga ti de oo, he brought his wife's car today" one of them announced, "Awwnnn God when" some girls said
"Accept my proposal first, your shakara too much" one guy replied to one of the ladies
"Tin ba gba oju e" (If I sl.ap you) she fired back and they all giggled,
He came in all shining, he's a very young handsome guy who's gonna like fashion with the way I see him. We thought he's gonna be one old man like that, surprised to see a young guy like this ruling a place like this, he's undoubtedly in his late 20s or Early 30s, He looks mature though, but the young face is still there, heard he just got married self.
He came in and they all greeted him, he replied slowly with one hand in his pocket and the other one waving at the ladies and shaking the men, he's obviously a friendly boss.. One thing is weird about him though, he reminds me of someone, Busayomi, my ex, the guy I dumped for Alhaji without telling him, I regret ever taking that decision, it wasn't my fault though , if not for Oloriibu Kemi and Basira my roommates that asked me to leave him and date Alhaji during our final years at OOU...
The guy looked towards where I was sitting and fear gripped me as our eyes nearly met, he looks more like Busayomi now, but he didn't notice me I guess.. "It better not be him o" I prayed silently where I sat patiently waiting for my turn to be interviewed. Few minutes later we were being called in one by one by one slim girl that dressed like me,
It was my turn, I went in slowly still praying it shouldn't be him, I greeted him and he responded not looking up from what he's typing on that laptop, so I stood there, almost immediately he raised his head and asked me to sit.
Our eyes met finally and cold breeze of fear gripped me as he looks more like Busayo now, I obeyed and sat quietly on the nearest chair opposite him.
And here I sat sitting and facing him, he asked for my name am I told him, he showed no reaction towards the name, getting me more confused and a little bit relaxed probably it's not him.
He's friendly though, he's making jokes and I'm managing to fake a fearful smile.
It better not be Busayo o, I pray it's not him, if not, this job isn't my way cos he surely not gonna hire me. But it looks like him, like 85% ...
Well, God created humans in twos right???
.
.
.
To be continued... Stay tuned for episode 4

Sort:  

Congratulations @njokudavid! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more