TRUE STORY (EPISODE 4)

in Freewriters3 years ago

Read TRUE STORY ( EPISODE 3) for better understanding.

images (12).jpeg

During the course of the silence, his phone beeped and vibrated on the table, he picked it up and checked the screen, a beaming smile filled his face and his lips curved so well, he closed his eyes while still smiling and shaked his left and right after reading what seems like an SMS. Then he looked up to me
"Sorry about that" he said and I wondered why he's saying that
"Okay back to you, you studied Accountancy at Olabisi Onabanjo University" He asked
"Yes sir"
"When was that school founded" he asked all of a sudden
Ladies and gentlemen, then I remember Genesis 1:1, 'And the Earth was null and void', I can't remember, or lemme say I have no idea at all , I hanged, didn't know what to say, he was staring at me expecting a reply but none was coming forth , I was thinking hard, Chai, ashamed of myself as I've failed already I tried to speak at least
"I... I.. " I tried to speak and hanged
"Okay fine, never mind" he concluded as he saw my confusion, "What of their current VC, do you know his name? "he asked
Ah Jesus of Nazareth, I've finally disgraced my ancestors here, I have no idea again, VC?, do I even know the VC that was there when I was still in school talkless of after I've left,, at that point I wished the ground should just open up and swallow me, I wish I could pick my phone and google it, I wish I could called Rebeccah to ask her their VC's name, or text Mariam via whatsapp to ask, at least she just graduated, she should know. I looked from the books on the table to the standing fan making the only noise in the office , no idea at all, he sensed my lack of knowledge again and changed the topic
"Those ones aside, Have you worked somewhere before? " he asked bending forward placing his elbows on the table and clinching his fingers and used then as support for his lower chin
"Yes sir" I shamefully answered
"For how long " ?
"3years sir" I lied, I actually worked at Alhaji's pure water industry as his personal assistant for few months before his wife and kids sent me away after the issue between us was exposed.
"Oh great then, then surely you know what what the position of a Financial Secretary means to an Organisation"
"Yes sir"
"Of which observation is one of them" he continued " he said and his phone starting ringing, he looked into the screen, picked the phone and "excuse me" he said raising a finger and relaxed back to his chair to receive the call... His conversation made me jealous, felt like he's talking to his wife, and from the tune at which he joked made me realise this time it's Busayomi, that's how he behaves with me too, romantic and playful at the same time, I can't deny the fact that I miss him.
Let me tell you how we met

Flashback
I was sitting under one of the trees near Mass com and International studies in the school compound that hot Tuesday afternoon , it was boredom that pushed me to that side, I don't usually sit there, many people were there also sitting, gisting and some were busy taking pictures, no familiar face among them ,suddenly I felt a bit of stomach ache and I started feeling uneasy, "Oh, not again" I exclaimed realising what it was, I nearly bursted into a cry, I sat still Though trying to compose myself and wait till I see a familiar face from my class, but none of my coursemates were around, none in sight, I started feeling more uneasy, all of a sudden a guy who has been sitting directly opposite me pressing phone with his earpiece on stood up and walk up to me removing one of the earpiece from his ear
"Ma'am are you okay?" he asked, possibly he's been observing my uneasiness since
"Yes yes, I'm fine" I lied, trying to get him away
"But you don't seem to be" I felt concern in his voice
"Nope.. I'm fine pls"
"Ma'am, whatever it is you can tell me, trust me" he said calmly as he bent placing his hand on one of his knees for support
"Okay... Fine... Eehnn.. My... Period... Came unannounced" I replied with shame
"Oh" he exclaimed and stood straight looking around
"That's not a problem, I understand" he said, "Just stay sit there pls I'll be back in a jiffy"
He walked away towards the motion ground, few minutes later he came along with a bundle of pads, tissue papers and Dettol antiseptic and handed it over to me, he then off his cardigan and gave it to me to tie around my waist cos my white skirt was already stained. Walked me to the female toilet in mass com department
"There" He pointed to one of the rest rooms, "You'll see water there, I'll be under the tree" he said as he held my phone, books and bag
"Alright thank you" I said walking into the rest room and praying with one mind that he shouldn't run away with my belongings, people can't be trusted these days
When I was done I came out, and surprisingly or not, he was sitting under the tree at the exact place he was the other time, I walked from behind to his front
"Oh you're done" he said removing one earpiece again and stood up when he noticed my presence
"Yes" I said shyly, not able to look him straight in the eyes, he handed my stuffs back to me
"It's okay, it's a normal things for ladies, it's nothing to worry about, hope you're better now " he said smiling and making me a little comfortable and shy at the same time.I nodded and looked at him, It was at that moment that I gat to notice how cute he is, he got a babyface, tall and slim, a bit fair and he's got a nice curly hair too, looking like all these Korean Lee Minho
"Alright take care ehn, I've gat to go" he said and was about to turn
"I'm Funmi... Funmilayo" I said
"Oh, Funmilayo, nice to meet you, I'm Busayomi" he simply replied and walked away into the department
I came the next day looking for him to say thank You again , I saw no sign of him, and the next day too, I couldn't find him for the whole of that week, I was thinking of him all through, how can a guy be that nice, he's cute too.
The following Monday I saw him at the school garage, I was unsure though, but I called the name "Busayo" I called and he and his friends looked back
"Ohh! What that name again... Ehhmm" he said walking back to me as others went on
"Funmilayo" I reminded him
"Ah yes , sorry about that, I have small brain" he joked
"Yeah, I just wanna say thanks for the other day , I really appreciate "
"Oh, that, it's Okay, Allihamdulilah"
"Are you a Muslim? "
"Nope"
"You look and sound like one though"
And that was how we exchanged numbers and started talking, we dated for 2years before I left him for Alhaji under the influence of my stu.pid roommates.. Worst decision ever.

Back to present
So let's go with the observation part" He simply said after dropping the call...

To be continued

Sort:  

Congratulations @njokudavid! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 10 posts.
Your next target is to reach 20 posts.
You received more than 900 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP