Pop Up WeWrite Contest!

in Freewriterslast year

Boy, is the Freewriters community ever hopping these days! Lots of great freewriters are writing with us! A recent returnee, @bennettitalia (of freesongwrite fame), asked about something called "chain fiction." One thing lead to another and, well, I've decided to host another WeWrite contest. It's been too long! My apologies!

Here it is, another unfinished story for y'all to finish, should you care to. The guidelines (these have changed, so read them!) are after your prompt story, which appears below in bold type.

The grillman was grilling the fish, the pantry chef was plating the salad, the tempura was coming along nicely, and those poachers had just dropped 100 quail eggs into the poacher. Crunch time in the kitchen.

The boss, usually a picture of composure and correctness, said something they had never heard him say before.

Don't fuck it up.

"It must be someone really important!" cried the pantry chef, who was on his first shift without his trainer by his side.

The tempura sizzled, starting to turn that perfect golden color.

The eggs were nearly done. The poachers stood at attention with their slotted spoons hovering over the simmering pans.

Everything was ready. It was time to plate the fish.

The grill person lifted the fish carefully from the grill. It was perfectly striped and perfectly cooked. Everything was going along smoothly, a beautiful thing in the kitchen.

Until the pantry chef cried out "I quit!"

And the fish landed on the floor.

image.png

I will upvote and reward anyone who finishes the above story. The size and nature (probably hsbi) of the rewards will be determined by the payout of this post and the number of entries.

text16.png

Contest Guidelines

New! You may continue my story above, or any of the stories written for this contest. Make sure you tag the author of the story you are finishing, and leave us a link to that story if you know how to do that.

use #WeWrite as a tag please, so that we can find your entry.

You may head any direction and/or distance in time and/or space.

Your entry must be posted in The Freewriters Community, hive-161155.

750 word limit

Please leave a link to your entry in the comments on this post.

text16.png

I hope you don't mind my tagging a few of you to get this started: @deeanndmathews, @carolkean, @felt.buzz, @trucklife-family, @riverflows, @itsostylish, @deirdyweirdy, @wandrnrose7, @myjob, @wakeupkitty

text16.png

This is also my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is poachers.



image

Sort:  

I gave it a try, I hope I did everything. I forgot to put my picture in it so I tried to edit it and it let me put the pic in but I do not see it.
https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@myjob/wewrite

!ALIVE

@owasco! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @myjob. (4/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Ohhhh man, I love this - and it seems perfect, and complete, as is.
But would I dare, could I, should I....
A fish out of water, a fish out of the skillet and face down on the floor, and someone important awaiting his fish -
and are the "poachers" a double entendre, poaching the eggs they poach in the kitchen?

They are whatever, whenever, wherever you want them to be my dear.

Carol Kean IS IN THE HOUSE. Is she the important person waiting for her meal? Is it a meal she awaits?

LOL
Carol Kean would say, "Get a spatula. Scrape the fish off the floor. Rinse it gently under the faucet. Ok, good to go."
I'm leaning toward the pantry chef having panicked at the sight of poaching police... those quails are mad as hell and they ain't gonna take it anymore...

This conversation is cracking me up

@carolkean I thought she meant they put the poacher's eggs in the egg poacher

Oh the vegan in me, is finding it hard to finish this story. I don't feel good about writing about meat. But it also gives me a greater challenge, so I will try my best to take part xxxxxx

Oh I would love to have you contribute! Make the fish a tempeh/fish lookalike? Or follow some other employee? Feel free to leave any flesh out.

You went for it! Awesome 😁 I'll post an entry soon ✨

One question about the rules: are you saying that anybody can continue this, or any other, entry, so that there are potentially many different stories and branches of stories all going on at once, and you can basically start from anywhere (or even everywhere, if you have the time) at any time?

Yes, like a tree. I didn't put a deadline. I engaged with one a while back, which grew off of this post by @katharsisdrill . I got to swim with some much bigger fish there for a few months. Writing my character Runt Odel still remains the highlight of my blogging career. I wish it hadn't petered out, I could have written her forever.

Hopefully this link will take you to all of them.

Ha! That's awesome. Like a multiverse of Free writes! 😃

Will post a continuation (definitely not a conclusion) tomorrow, today's already getting away from me, gotta try to catch up.

The link seems to work, I'm looking forward to meeting Runt Odel (great name btw 😆).

Make sure that you read the first installment of those. We could revive these folks if you like. I think katharsisdrill wouldn't mind, might even join in. No one really engaged with my character, but not because I didn't try to get them to! We could have built a whole little town in
211 word stories.

Ha! Finally got a chance to read some of those. All of katharsisdrill's and two of yours (I could only find two). They're amazing. It seems like a number of people joined in. What cool post-apocalyptic world building! And I love the starting and finishing on the same sentence 💛

These kind of tasks, or restrictions on writing, caused me to write in a style that is not usually mine.

To produce that list, I probably searched for "torundel" so some of them are missing. I only wrote six or so of them. Now and then I write another, hoping...

Hmmm...I have to admit I'd like to try my hand at it at some point. I just realized, "Runt Odel" is and anagram of "Torundel"! Ha! Brilliant 😁

Runt Odel...!!!! Omg!!
The very name makes me laugh... and remembering the story... it's been a while.

I would never have thought of egg poacher for this prompt 😄. I'm really wondering what's going on with this pantry chef, to disrupt such a harmonious scene. Things were going so well! I have a feeling this character might wake me in the middle of the night to tell me about it...maybe they need to get something off their chest. Will have to keep my phone nearby to take notes...

I await your vision! I gave 6 characters with nebulous characteristics, and one event that everyone who dines out fears. I didn't tell y'all much else. We are not getting a whole lot of attention on this one. Maybe one has to have worked the line in a restaurant to even be able to envision the scene.

Funny though, I told the most about that pantry chef. Did you ever work the line in a restaurant?

Someone else poached eggs too. Wandrnrose I think, or maybe wakeupkitty.

I fixed the link above to the story that started the whole thing . Here it is again

Bravo! Good return!

I'm so glad you think so. I was a bit worried about my story being too hard, or too grounded in reality, to be easily continued. @bennettitalia and @mayjob have done it. I'd love to have you participate! Thanks for coming by!