You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Misplaced! a freewrite

in Freewriterslast year

I've had a bit of a dry spell. Couldn't write anything at all. So here I am back at my blogging roots, the peeps that are the reason I am still here at all after earning NOTHING for months on end, @freewritehouse. I am just starting to be able to write fiction again. Thank you for your support!!!

Sort:  

You're most welcome. For what it's worth, I like them. What's the most you've released these in a week, if that makes sense.

I mean, when you're running on all cylinders, how often do you post these short stories? I think I remember you doing one or two a week.

Now I am doing two or three a week I suppose. I really feel like I've lost my mojo, and am trying to get it back. I would post more of them but I so often write stuff that is not publishable now, or I sure wouldn't want anyone wasting their time reading it.

When I first started writing freewrites I wrote one every sindle day. It was like getting candy in the mail when the post with the prompt went up. Everyday a decent story would come out of me the first time I tried. The good old days.

And what, they don't do daily prompts anymore?

Not publishable. I so hear you. I'll never admit how much time I spend rewording shortening editing.

Marianne posts a prompt every day, but I don't attempt it every day anymore.

With freewriting, since I want it to be unplanned, I don't edit after the five minutes. Maybe a little proofreading clean-up, but the content does not change at all. But if I can't get off the ground with a story, and what I have written sucks, I toss it out and start again. Or not. There are an awful lot of freewrites that offer no good reason to have read them. I hope I never publish anything like that.