You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spring Break

in Freewriters3 years ago

@hlezama used to say pretty much the same thing, and now he's a great fiction freewriter.

This one has truth in it about me, as all my freewrites do.

I am reading Great Expectations, and have been wondering what gives with the constant post office references to Wemmick's mouth. I also noticed just today that someone I have been following online has a mouth that could be described as a post office mouth, and she says stuff along the lines of the first character's inspired rant. So there's where the monologue came from.

I once, long long ago, sat on the side of a gravel pile while tripping, suddenly realized the danger I was in, and scrambled frantically out of there. I was with a friend who got very placid while tripping. She is that second character. The bit with the screen might be the only pure imagination in the freewrite.

It's non-fiction repurposed as fiction. I had no idea these things would come out in the freewrite when I started writing. I love doing these. I don't know why I haven't done them in so long. I think I thought that I'd lost the ability.

Sort:  

I should turn into one too... a fluent fiction writer if not a great one.

I thought I was the only one who leans to the truth a bit while writing. If the extract doesn't come from a read or an experience, my friends experiences with a twist is what shows up. Then the imagination bit compiles it however it deems fit and entertaining.

Definitely getting back to it. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and how you break your own down.