Wonky and Fred, a freewrite

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Some time ago, @rycharde ran nonsense writing contests. The task sounded simple - write a bit of nonsense to win a prize. Surprisingly, no matter how hard I tried to freewrite nonsense, my poems always made sense.

For today's freewrite, I gave writing nonsense a go again. This was written from start to finish in five minutes flat. It was informed in large part by @riverflows post about writing a limerick about mushrooms.

Wonky and Fred

There once was a man named Wonky
who had a donkey named Fred
Fred led a band through a thicket
and wound up with crackers on his head

The thicket gave way to barnyard
where puppies frolicked all the day
Fred led the puppies to the roadside
whereupon and whence they began to play

in the road! What a ruckus
the women in the house did make
they came out all the doors and windows
and called “Wonky! Your stupid donkey is a flake!”

Wonky had been gathering mushrooms
from the oak trees behind the barn
he didn’t see tragedy coming
and ignored the womanly alarm

The rest of the story is happy though -
the puppies were saved by the bell
of a passing ice cream truck convoy
and a deluge of kids after school

Traffic slowed to a careful crawl
to let the children buy their treats
Fred brayed for forgiveness on the spot
and Wonky didn’t give him a beat

image.png

This is my entry to @mariannewest's daily freewrite challenge. Today's prompt is wonky.



image
cute little barn page break by @thekittygirl

Sort:  

What a funny narrative poem. I think I like Wonky and his donkey and it made some sense to me. Nice. 😃

yeah I like them too. and the puppies. I especially like the puppies! Thanks for stopping by!

I just want to know how many puppies went home with the kids?

💗🤠💙🙏🐾🐕🐶🐾

Two are coming home with me next Saturday!

Puppies or kids? 🤠😁🐶🐕🥳🤕👍🐾🐾🐾

But I'm pretty sure it's puppies, LOL! What breed?

👍🥳🐕🐾💙💗😆

Mini Australia Shepherds. A matched pair. Great if I ever have chickens again.

https://peakd.com/hive-161155/@owasco/hazel-and-hank-a-freewrite

One of my favored breeds! Good ad to your prepping plans. Dogs are an inexpensive way to enhance security on a homestead! 👍💗

Haven't seen you on steemit lately? I know there isn't much activity there, but there are a few there I'd miss. 🤕

Enjoy the pups, kids are more expensive anyway, ROFLOL!

🐕🐾🐾🐕🐶👍🤠💗