Oil and Water

in Freewriters2 years ago
Money and Friendship; Oil and water, two things that never mix. The first financial advice I'd give to anyone is to be careful when mixing money and friendship. Extremely careful. I know it can be tough, seeing a friend go through a hard time, and there's always an urge to help, to reach out, to assist, but most times, that's a bad idea and the beginning of the end of the friendship. Especially if said money is given as a loan, a debt to be repaid. It's always a great idea to give out money and brand it a gift, not a loan. Even if you don't state it out, that should be your mindset. I once heard someone say "never give out money you can't gift away" and I honestly agree. While you're overwhelmed by the urge to help, to assist, to lend a hand, never give out money you can't forgo. Now this isn't a validation to ignore friends in need, but a call to preserve your relationship from the force called money. No, I'm not just talking because I feel like speaking, but I'm speaking from experience. I lost a friendship of 15 years due to 30 dollars. And no, it's not necessarily because of the money, it's more the happenings as a result of the money and less the money itself.

Amazing and I had been friends since grade school. We were in the same grade and formed a bond in chemistry class when he forcefully had me inhale a mouthful of ammonia. Nasty experience folks, and not the perfect way to start a friendship. I still taste it, even as I write this. (He got detention though). We proceeded to become best friends, doing everything together; Hangouts, sleepovers, double dates as we begun dating, the occasional financial help. Helping him pay the bus fare, him helping me pick up lunch. Money wasn't an issue in our friendship, so I didn't think it was weird when he was preparing for his book launch and needed extra cash. We were now in different states, going to different colleges and all. He'd always had a knack for writing, so I'd been more than glad to lend him 5 dollars, then 10, then 20, and then 30. Little details that had come up. Was the way he'd described it. He always paid back, so I didn't mind handing him money to my discomfort. Plus, it was my friend's big day.
The book launch was a success. I'd been unable to attend due to a work emergency. But he'd spammed me with videos and photos. I was delighted, almost like it was my own success. We spoke regularly, with him updating me on the success of sales. "I'd send in your money soon man." He'd say at the end of every call. And I'd give my okay. This continued for a while and at a point, he only mentioned the money when I asked about it. I let it go, till I actually needed the money, or better still, I felt he was reluctant to pay up and I wanted my money back. My phone had fallen and cracked badly, and I had to divert funds intended for other purposes to replace it. I'd asked Amazing to refund my 30 dollars, explaining that I had an emergency and needed the money to solve it. I was surprised at his answer; he was going to send it in that afternoon. I was thrilled. Things would finally go back to normal, the awkwardness that usually surrounded our conversations at the mention of the money would dissipate, and we'd go back to how we were before.. Foolish me!!!
Amazing blocked my number. I discovered that two days later when I tried to call him repeatedly and failed to reach him, only to use a pay phone and instantly connect to him. I was flabbergasted. He obviously had the 30 dollars, so what was so difficult in refunding the money. We didn't speak till six months later when we met at his sister's wedding. I'd long forgotten about the money and the friendship. Hurt at the fact that such a miniscule amount of money could ruin such a great friendship. He'd proceeded to ignore me for most of the day, only speaking to me when necessary. Till date, he never felt the need to return the money.
Like I previously said, never give out money that cannot be forgone, and as a friend in need, never abuse the trust that is invested in the act of service, the act of giving. Don't abuse the love and trust of a friend who found you in need.

![]()