I was not the first

in Freewriterslast month

image.png
Source

 
I was not the first to brush your lips,
nor the first love that embraced your heart.
Maybe others before me have conquered you
with details, roses or poems of passion.
I won't be the pioneer who enjoyed your embrace
nor who dedicated a song to you with devotion.
Nor will I be the first to approach you with fervour
or tell you a bad joke that made you laugh for no reason.
No, I was not the first to promise you the moon,
nor to compare you to its light and sidereal beauty.
When the night came, others saw it first
and in it they beheld your unparalleled smile reflected.
But though I was not the first in many things,
for you I will be the last on this path of love.
The one who loves you with eternal and inexhaustible passion,
giving you his life, his soul and his heart.