15 Quotes On The Epic Super-Power Most Content-Creators Neglect

in Freewriters3 years ago

Persuasion. Marketing. Buzz-creation. PR. Copywriting. Propaganda. Selling. Word Of Mouth.

000_Persuasion_Quotes.png

It doesn't matter what you call it...

Content-creator's offerings are often ignored because they neglect the most important skill they possess.

Capturing and holding the attention of others onto your creations in a noisy world. This is a pillar of persuasion, but for some reason, ~99% of content-creators neglect it.

They ignore a super-power they've had since birth, the ability to persuade.

As kids, we could persuade parents to get us that new toy or let us go to a friend's house. We could persuade our friends to pull pranks or skip school. We could even persuade ourselves to believe in a relationship or cause, whether it was good for us or not.

And I know what I'm talking about.

As a child my creativity was encouraged.

My parents had me tested and placed in a special 'gifted school', which gave me far more freedom to create than most kids. And that creativity has been kept up throughout my life. I've made more 'ignored creations' than anyone I know. (I'm not sure, but it might be more than anyone period.) I've made hundreds of posts & articles, created a book, been in the press, made animations & digital art, written and performed songs, coded games, and much more. Many of them went ignored.

"I’ve missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. Twenty-six times I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." - Michael Jordan

My constant failure to draw the attention of others toward my creations made me feel the way I imagine Vincent Van Gogh felt. Van Gogh painted many artworks, which almost certainly "should've" been embraced and applauded by his society, but he died undervalued, underpaid, and in relative obscurity.

Do You know who made Van Gogh famous? His sister-in-law, Jo. Shortly after Van Gogh died, Jo was left with a ton of paintings, which she marketed, promoted, and persuaded like a beast. She took them to galleries, dealers, and exhibitions, loaning them out. She went one-by-one making friends and refining her pitches until people started to pay attention. Being a great content-creator alone wasn't enough, but when a passionate promoter took over, that's when things started to happen.

As a publishing creator, one of two things can happen.

  1. You can publish your materials and effectively capture the attention of your target audience / potential fans / the critics / the public.
  2. You can publish your materials and ineffectively capture people's attention.

And the most important factor in how things go is your persuasion abilities.

Do you ever feel like a 'Van Gogh', creating things you know in your heart are valuable, while society ignores your efforts? Many people do. I did.

And the deep pain of pouring out wisdom, creativity, and passion that gets ignored, led me to do something rare.

I began studying persuasion.

A00160C_Jenny_Mollen.png

Because I realized that creating beautiful things is useless if we can't persuade people to snap out of their autopilot routines and pay attention to whatever we've made.

And when I started studying it something even stranger happened.

The internet let me down.

If I want to improve at League Of Legends, I can find countless wonderful resources freely available to learn from, even free coaching.

If I want to improve at graphic design, YouTube channels and forums are offering well-structured and valuable teachings.

But there's precious little out there on persuasion.

All I could find on it were haphazard, hit-or-miss, super-general, difficult to apply teachings.

I thought to myself, "how many content-creators, brands, and businesses are suffering as they pour their heart into creating wonderful things... but couldn't learn persuasion even if they tried?"

Schools teach us how to add numbers or create music, but I've never seen a course on persuasion. And even if I did, I'm doubtful as to how effective it would be.

I'm not sure I've ever seen such an important skill be so under-discussed and under-taught. For example, one of the first things I do when I want to learn a new skill is...

Seek out the masters of it.

I seek out the best 'practical appliers' of the skill and examine their examples, and I also seek out the best 'teachers and coaches' of the skill, to learn from their wisdom and knowledge.

So if I wanted to quickly learn basketball, I'd study, say... Michael Jordan footage for his application, and study Phil Jackson's teachings, for his wisdom/theory.

But when I googled for masters of persuasion, I could find plenty of examples of 'practical appliers', such as Cicero, MLK, Trump, etc., but very few teachers of persuasion outside of Robert Cialdini, Kevin Hogan, or Charlie Houpert (who, for me at least, weren't extremely helpful).

So I figured maybe my google-skills were lacking and poured in more effort.

I searched marketing, rhetoric, copywriting, controlling narratives, and more since they're all persuasion under different names.

Each of these research binges helped a bit, and I'd end up adding a name here and there to my list. After years of doing this, I'd created my own substantial list of 'persuasion masters.'

So the next phase of my research was reading as much as I could from these people, especially my favorites like Blair Warren and Eugene Schwartz.

And while truly learning persuasion usually takes much practice...

Often we can get a jumpstart by deeply thinking on the wise words of people who speak about persuasion.

And this thought inspired me to google 'persuasion quotes', but the results were embarrassing. Searching either brought a bunch of flowery romance excerpts from Jane Austen's novel, 'Persuasion', brainyquote.com's vague quotes from celebs who happened to use persuasion once in a sentence, or a scattering of good-but-over-played others.

So I decided to make my own compilation of persuasion quotes.

And hopefully, it'll inspire more content-creators to be better at this sorely neglected super-power.

Because once you have a basic grasp of persuasion, you'll find you can market any creation you've made reasonably effectively. You'll find you're much better at promoting any cause or project that's important to you. You'll find you're able to get the positive results that many content-creators dream of.

So here are the best quotes I've found on persuasion, from some of the wisest people who cover the topic.

Enjoy:

B00160A_Plato.png
'Rhetoric' is just a fancy way of saying 'persuasive communication.' People often make it sound 'evil' or 'bad', but rhetoric can be used to help others or harm them, just like any other skill or tool.

C00160E_BlairWarren.png
Blair Warren is one of my favorite persuasion teachers, and he points out that most of us are unable to admit humanity's irrationality, and anyone who can't honestly assess humanity's quirks and foibles, will struggle to properly influence people.

D00160R_Samaan.png
Content-creators have tons of great ideas, and they often work to bring them to life. It's a shame to see them die due to lack of persuasion.

E00160H_BlaisePascal.png
I made a post about marketing Hive recently that got 350+ comments. Most of the commenters had very strong beliefs about how to best market hive. It's worth asking, did they get these beliefs through clear thinking, rock-solid proof, and years of marketing experience? Or did they get their beliefs through their fears, biases, and preferences? Food for thought, I'd say.

F00160I_DanielPink.png
On average in our careers, we devote 40+ percent of our time on the job towards 'moving' others. We are all in sales now. We're all continually 'selling' everybody around us on our ideas, our beliefs, even our 'presence', whether we like it or not.

G00160M_YusufLeinge.png
The most impressive feats people look up to in the world have been accomplished by persuasion, not force.

H00160N_AbeLincoln.png
This is @cynshineonline 's favorite quote, and my least favorite. I prefer to persuade with rationality, proof, wisdom, and clear value, and would prefer if 'friendship' didn't really come into it, lol. Regardless, this is extremely important to the art of persuasion.

I00160Q_GrantCardone.png
Just facts.

K00160J_AdolfHitler.png
So... this dude probably isn't someone to celebrate, but he definitely knew a thing or two about persuasion.

L00160S_DanKennedy.png
Ask yourself how well are you accomplishing this with your content?

M00160G_EugeneSchwartz.png
Many content creators don't think much about whether their words are 'felt' by their audience, but the ones who do tend to succeed much more than the rest.

N00160T_Bernays2.png
If you're sure what you're doing is the right thing for all involved, and you want the support of 'the masses' or 'the majority'... it's on you to persuade them to agree with you or adopt a similar position. In a democracy, everyone has the freedom to make their case and attempt to persuade others.

O00160P_DeanRusk.png
The better you are at listening and understanding another's perspective, the more masterfully you're able to persuade them. If you're not great at listening & understanding others, you'll struggle to persuade.

Q00160B_Harry_Overstreet.png
The real trick to persuasion is that it happens inside another person's mind, and it's completely under their control. All you can do is make your strongest case possible, persuade as excellently as possible, and be as influential as possible... but ultimately, it's up to each individual what thoughts they think and what they choose to believe, no one else's.

And that wraps up my list of quotes.

Now, I'll mention that some people object to learning persuasion.

In fact, some people see persuasion as bad, evil, or 'manipulation.' But since persuasion is something we're all doing, all the time, (and have been since we were kids)...

Objecting to persuasion is like objecting to breathing. Or perhaps more like objecting to moving your limbs.

A person can use their limbs to injure someone else, or they can use their limbs to build a house. Similarly, a person can use persuasion to harm others or to benefit others. There's absolutely nothing wrong with improving one's persuasion skills, it's the same thing as strengthening one's arms and legs. And for a content creator, it's vital.

If you still don't want to use persuasion to better your life and the lives of others, that's fine, but the only result I see from neglecting such a powerful natural ability... is 'struggle.' People who are good at persuasion tend to struggle less and achieve more of their dreams. People who avoid persuasion like the plague tend to struggle more and achieve less of their dreams. This is easily observable if you look into it.

But I encourage everyone to do what feels best to them.

There's no pressure here. And you definitely shouldn't do anything that doesn't feel good to you. But I'd say it's worth giving some thought to the power of persuasion to help you realize your dreams before writing persuasion off or dismissing it.

Ask yourself some questions about it, such as:

  • "Do the heroes and people I look up to use persuasion? If so, how?"
  • "Was I more persuasive as a child? Did that help me grow and get what I want? What happened that made me weaken my persuasion muscles?"
  • "If my options are a) persuade well, b) persuade poorly, and c) avoid persuasion because it's 'bad'... which choice suits me and my life best?"

Because all your dreams lie just beyond the threshold of persuasion.

  • Want plenty of upvotes? You'll have to persuade your audience your content is worth their time and positive support.
  • Want a sale? You'll somehow have to persuade clients to trust you.
  • Want a bigger house? You'll have to persuade your family to move, or the seller to accept your bid, or your agent to do so for you.

Persuasion is a key in nearly everything you do, and many content-creators languish in obscurity while they ignore this super-power. And here you are now, reading some valuable information about it.

Originally I just wanted to share a list of wise quotes on an under-served topic. But I ended up inspired and wrote quite a bit. This has me wondering... have I persuaded you that your persuasion skills are worth improving?

Either way, you have a choice to make.

Remain the same as you've always been, with the same level of persuasion skill you've always had...

...or step up to the plate and invest more into mastering persuasion.

What do you choose?


P.S. I used a few persuasion techniques in this article, aimed at convincing you that persuasion is a helpful skill. Did you notice any of them?

P.P.S. If you want to learn more about the nuts and bolts of persuasion, please check out my primer "Persuasion Basics That Work: Tips & Tricks."

Also, I'll tag a handful of content creators who may get value from this: @danielvehe @starstrings01 @nevies @kgakakillerg @polarmystro @nioberojas @osarueseosato @wil.metcalfe #TogetherWeRyze


Bonus Quotes

R00160U_Rohn.png

S00160V_Erickson.png

T00160F_ClaudeHopkins.png

Sort:  

I'm reminded of the Vietnam war. The politicians used persuasion to convince their countrymen to go and fight (and to convince their policemen to arrest the draft dodgers who couldn't be persuaded), to use bullets and bombs to attack an idea.
They were worried that the allure of Communism was too persuasive.
It wasn't a fight against a particular ethnic group, or a fight for territory.
It was an attempt to fire bullets at an idea, and it failed because ideas are bulletproof.
Fighting indicates a failure to persuade. They weren't dropping leaflets on Vietnamese villages. In a war between ideas that's all the ordinance you should need.

Wow, fantastic points here man, I kind of wish I included this example in my post, lol, so thank you for sharing it in the comments. You're spot on, imho.

@intothewild 's tagline is "Good ideas don't require force," and I'd say that captures what you're getting at fairly well here.

Interestingly, the politicians feared the idea of communism, viewing it as too persuasive, so they used bullets, bombs, and threats as their best method of persuading others to avoid communism, or fight against it.

Ultimately, it all comes down to attempts at persuasion, whether poorly executed or not.

Wonderful contribution to the discussion as usual, good sir. Thank you for stopping by, I appreciate you. 🙏

You dont know what the hell youre talking about, do you?😂
You cant even help yourself... yet you presume to lecture others on life.

Your axe fell into honey when you found Hive and here you are finally making some money.
Fooling gullible Hivers...

Lol. What was it?

I would just watch Michael Jordan footage to quickly become a basketball player. Listen to Phil Jackson to absorb his wisdom..🏀

As if people should listen to your wisdom. These two are legends in the sport. The best to ever do it. What have you ever done or achieved?
You peddle dating advice on youtube to 50 viewers.

How can anyone buy the bullshit youre peddling. 😂

Sidenote... I was an actual basketball player. I used to play in the Croatian first and second league. I was decent but never close to good enough to make it big.
I would never presume to lecture ANYONE on how to become great in basketball. Because i have something called "selfawareness"

Tell you what.. ll give you 5000 USD if you score 1 point on me, just 1, after watching as many hours of Jordan footage and Phil Jackson as you want. You can watch all day and night. Lets see how that motivational crap compares to actual work required to succeed. The Blood, sweat, tears, broken bones and twisted ankles.

See, i despise people like you. Not because youre talking nonsense and peddling bullshit, but because you presume you can tell others that they dont know how to live their life, that they dont know how to do something, that they need to LISTEN TO YOU, YOU! a guy that has no fucking idea what the hell hes talking about and doesnt even have his life in order.

You sir are full of shit.

If you cant do, teach. If you cant teach, peddle crap online.

Loading...

You have found some great examples in persuasion above, below a couple to add, we should never forget a few fundamental rules, most important we are all human with similar behaviour.

Social Media and Life expects Reciprocation, Commitment and Consistency

To be persuasive we must be believable; to be believable we must be creditable?; to be credible we must be truthful.” Edward R. Murrow.

"Advertising is fundamentally persuasion and persuasion happens to be not a science, but an art." William Bernbach

"When you persuade, speak of interest, not of reason." American Proverb

Awesome additions, @joanstewart ! Yes! Reciprocation, commitment, and consistency are huge persuasion-levers.

I almost used all 3 of those quotes, but felt my piece was getting overlong. I'm so glad you added them here in the comments, thank you.

I love how you contribute kind words and insightful comments, thank you, very much appreciated it. Wishing you a great day! 🙏

Epic quotes to take into account when following procedures, each informative in your selection.

Find a couple then write them down as daily reminder, we tend to forget we are all so very similar.

I like how you demystify and destigmatize rhetoric in this post, and you're correct; Knowingly or not, we all actively or passively persuade others in our everyday communications. The art of active persuasion isn't necessarily a negative. That's especially true if you're looking out for someone or trying to make sure they aren't misguided or missing out on an opportunity. Similarly, in sales, so long as your product is a good fit and provides value to the customer, persuasion isn't necessarily a harmful manipulation—but rather a beneficial sales technique whereby both the seller and buyer walk away as winners. Granted, some will use persuasion for gain at the detriment of others, and that's how rhetoric got a bad name. Not too dissimilar, the science of propaganda earned itself a bad name after it got hijacked and abused by Hitler. As with any high technology, it can get used for good or ill. The atom can get split to create abundant energy or destroy densely populated areas. After the tragedy of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, TPTB came up with the IAEA to put a positive spin on nuclear power. After Hitler, propaganda got redubbed "public relations." Even forces for good use power and propaganda. If the good guys do not do so in some way, shape, or form, there's not a fighting chance at victory. Great post, @ryzeonline! You've provided a lot of interesting things to consider. ~ 🙏 ~

Fantastic comment here, chock full of value. Thank you kindly, @thoughts-in-time !

I like how you demystify and destigmatize rhetoric in this post,

This is exactly what I was aiming to do, and it's wonderful when a reader actually takes the true, intended meaning behind my post. (Possibly rare in this day and age, lol.)

a beneficial sales technique whereby both the seller and buyer walk away as winners.

Spot on. A proper, healthy, 'sales-job' is one where all involved achieve a win-win.

And your examples about propaganda, nuclear power, and so on are completely relevant. I love them.

If the good guys do not do so in some way, shape, or form, there's not a fighting chance at victory.

Just so! And the funny thing is, 'good guys' often complain that 'bad guys' are being listened to and believed too much. But to me it seems that they're just far more skilled and far more passionate about studying & improving their persuasion-skills, so of course they're believed more often, lol.

I find the whole subject to be very interesting food for thought, and I'm glad you enjoyed the post. Thanks for this comment, and I appreciate you, and wish you a great weekend!🙏

I dig each of those quotes enough I can't decide on a favorite and you know what they say about if you can't beat'em.....

16: If you can't fix it with a hammer, it ain't broke.
@dandays - The Luckiest Guy I Know

(grin) Glad you're feeling 'em bro. And I'm not surprised a man of your taste and pedigree would dig these quotes. You know what's up. :)

lol, I may put that 'hammer' quote into practice and see how far I get with it. 🤣

untitled.gif

Copy that, bookmarked and tattood!

I want to add;

Where there is a will to persuade, there will be a way !
by Britt

Its all a matter of pursistant pursuasion and taste. Time is off the essence aswell.
And a right mindset and state of mind will be helpful aswell, so yes it’s a hard life.

Thank his for blogs you do.

Humble to be a follower ehhh persuaded reader

Your gif game is so strong, lol.

Glad you enjoyed it, and you're so right, where there's a will to persuade, there is indeed a way. Well said.

Persistence, timing, environment and more all play roles, for sure. As does mindset. Fantastic points, @brittandjosie , thank you, haha, persuaded-reader :) 🙏

An we do new tags for this #persuadedreader #persuadermindset or better yet a community, but yes it’s a multiple thing needed job

Haha! I totally agree, it's such an important subject, it could definitely use some proper tags, or even a full-fledged community. Hopefully someone reads this and is inspired to start one. :) Woo! More great ideas, thank you! 🙏

That’s what happens when the number two and number 5 in engagement go head to head. To many ideas. But a great tag is always possible and cool

This is @cynshineonline 's favorite quote, and my least favorite. I prefer to persuade with rationality, proof, wisdom, and clear value, and would prefer if 'friendship' didn't really come into it, lol. Regardless, this is extremely important to the art of persuasion.

LOL!
I think it's hilarious that my favorite is Your least favorite haha. But that's why I get paid the big bucks to make friends and network my face off then eh? 😉😂 Your way of persuasion works...as does mine. That's why we make a great team.

I am not a fan of Hitler but he did know how to persuade the masses (as did Jim Jones & David Koresh). They used persuasion to harm people and get their way but they did know how to use it to get what they want. I prefer to use it to help others help themselves.

You found some epic quotes (and I know it wasn't easy finding these there's no list of "Great quotes for persuasion" anywhere).

"I’ve missed more than 9,000 shots in my career. I’ve lost almost 300 games. Twenty-six times I’ve been trusted to take the game-winning shot and missed. I’ve failed over and over and over again in my life. And that is why I succeed." - Michael Jordan

Also one of my favorites from one of my favorite people alive.

Because I realized that creating beautiful things is useless if we can't persuade people to snap out of their autopilot routines and pay attention to whatever we've made.

YES. People scroll by good stuff all the time but without a good hook, no one is going to pay attention.

You can make a swamp all pretty and spend all your time on it but if no one sees it, it's just YOUR swamp - J-Ryze
Not a "persuasion" quote but one of my faves that I use when I'm explaining to our clients the importance of persuading people to see what they've made.

Great post, great quotes. Super valuable to me. I adore persuasion and learning about it changed how I look at things, how I market, and how I help others market their content as well. I appreciate it.

Con mucho amor,
cyn

Yep, we each persuade the best ways we're able, and it's great to partner up with others too.

I'm glad you focus on using persuasion to benefit others, highly recommended.

It felt good to compile this quote list, I chose the best out of more than 80 quotes.

And you're right, good hooks are so important and rarely taught to the content-creators who need them most.

I appreciate you reading and commenting (and proof-reading), and I'm glad persuasion has helped you market. #TogetherWeRyze ! 🙏

Tremendamente bueno éste artículo, apenas vi que hablabas de la persuasión enseguida lo relacioné con un grande de nuestra historia venezolana: Simón Bolívar, de hecho se dice que fue un gran persuasor, no en vano libertó tantos países y con tan poco batallón en algunos casos. También leí en una ocasión un libro que tengo en mi casa que es viejo viejo viejo, pero bueno bueno bueno, sino me equivoco se llama: El Arte de la Persuasión de hecho da claros ejemplos de como persuadir y llegar a la mente del otro para lograr tus objetivos con sus propias palabras.

En cuanto a las preguntas si me las he planteado y justo estoy en ese dilema ahora, como persuadir para llegar a otros de manera eficaz y eficiente... ya veremos los resultados.

Un abrazo en la distancia.

Tremendously good this article, as soon as I saw that you were talking about persuasion I immediately related it to a great of our Venezuelan history: Simon Bolivar, in fact it is said that he was a great persuader, not in vain he liberated so many countries and with so little battalion in some cases. I also read on one occasion a book that I have in my house that is old old old old old, but well well well, if I am not mistaken it is called: The Art of Persuasion in fact it gives clear examples of how to persuade and reach the mind of the other to achieve your goals with their own words.

As for the questions I have asked myself and I am in that dilemma right now, how to persuade to reach others in an effective and efficient way... we will see the results.

A hug in the distance.

Me alegro de que le haya gustado mi artículo. No sé mucho sobre Simón Bolívar, pero por lo que he leído parece muy persuasivo. Un gran ejemplo. Y a veces los libros antiguos tienen mucho valor. Una cosa importante sobre la persuasión, es que es una habilidad que mejora con la práctica a lo largo del tiempo. Al igual que la cocina o el baloncesto, la lectura de artículos como el mío puede ser útil, pero nada es mejor que la práctica.

Te deseo mucho éxito, y un abrazo en la distancia!🙏

Traducción realizada con la versión gratuita del traductor www.DeepL.com/Translator


I'm glad you enjoyed my article. I don't know much about Simón Bolívar, but from what I read he sounds very persuasive. Great example! And sometimes old books have a lot of value. One important thing about persuasion, is that it is a skill that improves with practice over time. Just like cooking or basketball, reading articles like mine may be helpful, but nothing is better than practice.

Wishing you lots of success, and a hug in the distance!🙏

I not only enjoyed your article but also in the Discord interview last night, it was very nice and very persuasive because it got to all of us hehehehe!

Pro cierto, I agree with the great value of books, nothing like a good read, the old fashioned way, no technology, just enjoy the moment of the story you are telling.

Greetings on line ;-)

Me alegro mucho de que te haya gustado mi artículo y la entrevista. Y, jaja, espero que haya sido persuasivo, si no, no ayudaría a nadie, lol.

¡Saludos en línea!


I'm so happy you enjoyed my article and interview. And, haha, I hope it was persuasive, otherwise it wouldn't help anyone, lol.

Greetings online!

This piece of your post catches my attention: "Want plenty of upvotes? You'll have to persuade your audience your content is worth their time and positive support."
It would be interesting to know in what specific way we get the whales to vote for us through persuasion.
I really liked your post.

I'm glad that part caught your attention.

The thing about persuasion is that it is a skill that improves with practicing many things. It's similar to a skill like cooking, or basketball.

To be good at winning basketball games requires practicing dribbling, dunks, 3-pointers, stealing, picks, etc.

To be good at winning a whales vote requires practicing hooks, big ideas, storytelling, 'drama', communication, rhetoric, etc.

I've written posts on 'hooks', quality content, sentence-mastery, marketing, and a big communication masterclass. These are all related to persuasion if you'd like to explore further.

Hope that helps! 🙏

Persuade is just another word for influence.. and your influencer game is on point. Does that make you #persuader #1?

I dug the article. But definitely alot more books and writing on the topic of influencer, as that's the mass medias chosen title for this role. No? LoL.

Good stuff nonetheless, I like your style of writing... It's solid. Reminds me of a few other great writers I follow.

Yes, I agree. I suppose when I opened with:

Persuasion. Marketing. Buzz-creation. PR. Copywriting. Propaganda. Selling. Word Of Mouth.

I could've added 'influence' as well. (Not sure if that makes me influencer #1, but it's a nice 'dream' to think about, lol) :)

Plenty of books exist, located under many different categories, but it's a drop in the bucket compared to flood of books that exist on other topics, weight-loss or wealth, for example. Persuasion (or influence) is an extremely under-populated category, relatively-speaking.

I'm glad you like my writing-style, and am honored to remind you of other great writers.

Thanks for contributing, and wishing you a great day! 🙏

Congratulations @ryzeonline! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts.
Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

😁🙏😁

Great post! It is interesting and truly amazing how persuasion is used constantly in our daily life and many times without noticing it. Every time we enter a website, read an email, when seeing a commercial on TV or when listening to a politician.

And it is very good that you have emphasized that persuasion in itself is not bad, although very bad people have used it to generate such terrible consequences in the world.

I will try to learn more about this superpower and I appreciate you bringing it up.

Thank you! And I agree, it's interesting how persuasion is used constantly, and it can be our super-power, if we practice it and use it responsibly. Wishing you lots of success with it, and I appreciate your wonderful comment, thank you! 🙏

You are really good at this...my respect...I congratulate you.

Thank you kindly, I really appreciate it! Wishing you a great day! 🙏

I love it, and I think I've done it in my tutorial posts, but, how would you apply this in a story? I would say that the first paragaph of any story should persuade, but do you recommend to add someting else before that?

That is very likely, we're all doing it all the time. :)

Most stories are aiming to persuade you to become invested in the characters/plot. Most stories aim to persuade you to keep 'turning the page' and reading the next sentence. Some stories aim to persuade you to new insights or to a moral lesson. It starts from the title of the story, to the opening line, to all the rest of the writing. It even applies to the artwork on the cover or the blurb on the back, persuading someone to pick up a book, or the thumbnail of a post.

I wrote 5 'one-sentence' stories, and each one of them attempts to persuade the reader to 'enjoy' it. I hope this makes sense :) 🙏

It does, and again, it's what I already do. Success, here I go! hahaha

(grin) Well it's not really about "do I do this, or do I not it", in my mind...

...it's about how skillfully and masterfully we persuade. "Am I Shakira-level at persuasion? Or am I toddler-level at persuasion?"

For example, I do it often, but I still have lots of room to improve and grow in my persuasion-ability. :)

Anyway, wishing you lots of success! 🙏

Wow que genial, no había notado ese enfoque y tienes toda la razón persuadimos desde niños, ahora como adultos creadores de contenido debemos sacarle el mayor provecho. Gracias 😁

Sí, me alegro mucho de que te haya gustado. La gente merece tener sus sueños, y la persuasión es una herramienta infantil que vale la pena utilizar para alcanzarlos. 🙏


Yes! I'm so glad it resonated with you. People deserve to have their dreams, and persuasion is a childhood tool that is worth using in order to reach them. 🙏

@justlemon Thought you might like this. @ryzeonline made a post about persuasion (since we discussed it in our meeting today and you seemed to dig it).

Blair Warren is one of my favorite persuasion teachers, and he points out that most of us are unable to admit humanity's irrationality, and anyone who can't honestly assess humanity's quirks and foibles, will struggle to properly influence people.

This is the guy who wrote the "one sentence persuasion" that we went over today.

❤️

Ayyy, welcome to Hive @justlemon , we're honored and thrilled to have you here. I hope you get some value out of my persuasion insights. In my opinion it's a life-changing skill, worth investing in. Much love! 🙏

❤️❤️❤️

Two of the greatest books on persuasion I ever read ---

"How to find fish and make the strike." and "How to pick up women."

I'm telling you these books helped me bed many trout and catch stringers of women, all through persuasion! LOL

Loved the post!

Very interesting! I've read many books on persuasion, but don't believe I've read either of your recommendations. :) Glad you liked the post, and wishing many fish and women for all, lol 🤣🙏