5-minute Freewrite Day 1486 prompt: frozen pond

in Freewriters3 years ago (edited)


P1010974.JPG

photo credit

A creek flowed near our house when I was a little girl, gurgling merrily in the summer, and roaring wildly in the spring when the snow was melting in the mountains. My siblings and I spent many happy hours playing, wading, and fishing in that creek

We moved to Montana when I was 15, and there was no creek. But there was a small pond instead, tucked in a little hollow in a field of grass and weeds. Frogs hung out there, and a few water-loving birds. In the winter it became a frozen pond, and the ice was thick enough for skating. I barely knew how to ice skate, but I bought a pair of ice skates and would go down to that pond and lurch around slowly. It was a bit bumpy, of course, not all smooth like an indoors skating rink.

Our family dog would come along and supervise my skating attempts. She wasn't much of a coach, but her presence was reassuring. Sometimes my sister and brother-in-law would come over for a visit and join me. It was fun to have fellow skaters, but I also enjoyed the solitude of skating alone in the frosty winter dusk. Those are good memories that I will always treasure.

Thanks again to @mariannewest for providing the daily freewrite prompts!

Sort:  

Childhood memories are the best ones. I have never ice skated but I would have loved to join you, we would have had a good time.

Yes, we would have! Prior to that pond, I had only skated once, at an indoor ice arena, three years earlier. I spent most of that one afternoon clutching the railing around the outside edge, trying to stay upright. I made it across the width of the arena before the day was over, and felt I had seen success!

lol, I have never ice skated but this is what I still would do if I was to go roller skating.

That was a delightful memory! Thank you for sharing. It's good to see you! I hope all is well with you and yours.

Thank you! Life is not perfect, but I am hanging in there, enjoying grandbabies and going to Al-Anon meetings.

I'm glad you're doing ok and I pray the meetings are helping. I'm settling in for winter, but not the least happy about the pending weather. Jeff is in Michigan visiting his mom who has dementia. We were able to sell his house this week so I'm hoping that we can move forward with making approvement on this place after we purchase. One baby step at a time!

The projects never end, do they?

They don't seem to. Now to reduce all we can to fit somehow! The house is officially sold!

Those evening dusk skates, alone, sound almost magical ... the soft colors of dusk on ice ...

It really was quite lovely!