Remember me

in Freewriters2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220808_093051_220.jpg

I met Brian at our local church, it was a sunny day and I'd arrived late. Brian was at the entrance talking with one of the church ushers when I raced in.

I was trying to meet up with Pastor's Simon sermon since it was past ten already. He glanced at me and a warm smile enveloped his face.

I avoided his eyes and hurried into the church. I found an empty seat in the last row and joined the rest congregation. Pastor Simon begins his Sermon by 10 am and it was twenty minutes past already.

The service ended shortly not too long after my arrival and I felt sad for missing part of the service. I eased to my feet and said the grace in fellowship with the rest congregation.

Someone tapped me from behind and I turned sharply to see who it was. My heart began to palpitate when my eyes settled on him. It was at this moment I took a good look at him and went speechless.

Brian had the most beautiful eyes I have seen from the opposite sex. They were small, brown and round with short dark lashes and full straight brows.

He had a V-shaped face with a moustache. He was tall, dark, and muscular. I stared at him in admiration and smiled.

"Hello, sister," he said.

"Good afternoon," I replied.

"Good afternoon. How are you?"

"I am fine, thank you. What about you?" my left brow arched.

"Same here. Hope you enjoyed church service?" he buried his hand in his pocket.

"I guess." My face fell. "I came in late."

"Yes, I saw you. I wonder why."

"I woke up late today. I had a tiring day yesterday."

"Oh! I understand. It's okay," he told me.

"Thank you. I have to be on my way now," I said, to him.

"Okay. Let me see you off."

I shot him a grateful smile. "You don't have to."

"I insist."

"Okay. Thank you." I shrugged.

"After you, " he said.


Brian and I became very close friends within a space of time. There was an unexpected attraction between us and in no time we had fallen in love when though we pretended it was nothing.

It was visible. Everyone knew we loved each other. My mom and friends kept asking questions without me giving them the answer they needed.

I'd wondered why Brian wasn't saying anything at that moment. I was waiting for him to ask me to be his girlfriend but he was quiet.

I'd guessed he doesn't feel anything for me and I'd been disappointed. But I was wrong as he loved and desired to spend the rest of his life with me.

He'd professed his love to me when he came visiting for the easter celebration. We had sat on the balcony, eating chips.

"Jess, do you know you are the most beautiful woman I have ever seen?" his eyes glistened when he gazed at me.

My cheeks blushed. "You are flattering me, Brian."

"No, I am not. You are."

I avoided his eyes and munched the chips.

"Jess." He touched my hair.

"Yes." I darted my glance at him.

"I love you."

My eyes blinked uncontrollably as I stared into his eyes. His face moved closer to mine and my heart raced. I didn't know what to do and just stayed put.

His lips had almost claimed mine when I heard the voice of my sister, Sarah.

"Jess, do you guys need more chips? she poked her head through the door.

"Em.. no." I shook my head.

"Okay." She dashed away.

I swallowed hard and said, "I love you too, Brian."

A wide smile enveloped his face and he drew me closer to him. I wrapped my hands around his neck and broke into laughter.

"I have been waiting for you. I was scared you didn't feel the same way." I released him.

"I was taking my time."

I let out a soft breath. "It doesn't matter anymore. I have you now."

I embraced him.


I refused to let go of Brian as the train susurrated at its arrival. It was here finally and it moved till it halted slowly.

The doors were opened and passengers stepped into the train. I peered into his eyes with my eyes welled up with tears.

It'd been a tough week for me as I tried not to think of him leaving. I knew it was for our good but his presence mattered a lot to me and our unborn baby.

I'd been married to him for a year and two months. Our marriage was a blissful one with no worries even if we weren't rich but we lived happy and contented.

I had to stop college when our pregnancy protrude and I became very heavy. I was due already and our baby was coming soon.

But I felt glum as he wouldn't be around to carry our child when she arrived. We were expecting a girl and we got plans for her.

Months back, Brian had applied for a scholarship to further his education. It had always been his dream to study abroad for his master's degree but his mail of acceptance didn't come.

He waited fruitlessly and gave up. He had already forgotten about it not until he received a mail from the university. He had been offered the scholarship.

It was a mixture of feelings for me. Happiness flowed through my veins and gloom overcame me. I was happy his dream of studying abroad had become a reality; but what about our baby?

What about me?

He would be gone for years. How do I cope without him? These had been my fears.

"Baby, don't worry about anything. I will be back sooner than you know it, " he said, as he wiped my tears with his thumb.

"How do I live without you?" my throat choked with tears. "Our baby is coming soon."

He cupped my cheek with his hand. "You will live, Jess. You will. My mom is there for you."

"But I need you more." I wept.

He held me close and stroked my hair. "I will be back. You don't have to cry," he told me, with his voice filled with emotions.

The train chugged and I was startled. It was time for him to go. I released him and said, "Remember me. Never forget me."

"I won't." He kissed my forehead and my tummy.

I loosened the knot of my floral scarf and waved to him. He ambled into the train. I could see tears trickling down his cheeks.

I had never seen Brian cry before.

It was a difficult moment for us but we had no choice.


It'd been three years since Brian travelled overseas to study abroad and for six months I hadn't received a mail from him.

My heart was broken and wounded, Brian had forgotten me. Our baby, Tasha was grown now and had started school. She was his carbon copy.

His mails were coming in every week constantly and my heart would leap for joy whenever I received them.

I made sure I replied to all his mails with pictures of Tasha and me. I told him how much we missed him and how Tasha couldn't wait to see him.

I focused on my sewing business and taking care of Tasha, hoping that one day he would return. Hoping that he would reply soon.

It was new year's eve and I was preparing stew for the new year's celebration. Tasha was in the kitchen too playing with her doll when I heard someone knocking.

I cleaned my hands with the towel and hurried to the door.

"Who is it?" I asked and didn't get a response.

I tried to guess who it was but I decided to open the door.

My eyes widened and my mouth dropped open. Brian was at the door.

"Jess."

"Brian," I whispered.

Tears cascaded my cheeks. Happiness and resentment exuded in me.

"Dearest, I am back."

I stepped backwards as he walked in.

"Why did you stop replying to my mails?" I asked, with gritted teeth.

"It's not intentional." He tried to touch me but I flung his hands away.

"Don't touch me. You forgot about us."

"No, I had a lot to do in school Jess. It was my final year and I had to give in my best. I received all your mails and kept them; all I wanted was to make you and Tasha proud," he said, with sadness in his eyes.

I didn't know whether to believe him or not. I just couldn't tell if he was saying the truth.

"Mama." Tasha waddled into the living room. "I am hungry."

I turned to her and carried her in my arms. "Don't worry, dear. Food is almost ready."

Brain fixed his gaze on her and joy bubbled up inside of him.

"My Tasha."

I allowed him to carry her and watched in tears as he planted a kiss on her forehead.

"Papa," she said.

"Baby," he replied, astonished.

I was shocked Tasha knew who he was even though she hadn't seen him except for pictures.

"I am here now. So sorry for staying too long."

She encircled her hands around his neck.

I sniffed and recalled my stew. I dash to the kitchen and put the fire off. The stew was getting burnt already.

Brian joined me in the kitchen leaving Tasha In the living room.

"I am sorry, babe."

I ignored him and removed the pot from the gas cooker.

"Jess."

"You didn't care about us. You just abandoned us."

"No." He held my hand. "I didn't, you were always on my mind. I thought about you all day."

"Then, why?" my throat choked with tears.

"I am sorry." He wiped my tears with his thumb. "I am here now."

"I have missed you." I hugged him tightly.

He kissed my hair and sighed. "I have missed you more."

I could barely conceal my delight. Having him back was a new year gift from God. I was so excited he remembered me.