Internet trouble

in Freewriters2 years ago

This prompt (see title) is meant for me.

It must be since the last te I had a great connection was around 1996. Back then you had to dial to be connected. Of course, it was expensive so the te was limited. Looking back I don't think that's such a bad thing.

Altogether, we waste too much time online and we aren't online because of our job or we need certain information but because we are bored, used to switch on the computer, we are easily distracted while we hope someone notices us plus we waste an awful lot of time waiting.

I wait a lot, perhaps more than the average person. This doesn't mean I have nothing else to do, I'm slow, I practiced being patient. On the contrary. It's not that I wait till my computer starts up but it's the connection. My internet connection is so slow that it takes me one hour to do what others achieve within 5 minutes time. So I leave and do something else (indeed I multitask and have a lot to remember while I am productive elsewhere). The internet is no longer important to me, not important enough to waste so much time or to be thrilled to see what pops up on my screen.

I remember how I sat the entire night behind the computer to figure it all out (no mobile or smartphones back then and television was boring already).

Today I like to say I have better things to do instead of feeling annoyed. There was a time I thought we are the only one with a lousy slow connection but I know it isn't true. Most people struggle with their internet while providers charge and want us to believe we are the only ones and it must be our phone, router, or pc.

It's interesting how these providers get away with it and brag at the same time about them being the first enrolling 5G or 6G. For sure some will believe the internet will be faster, one day, perhaps...

I no longer believe in it. As long as providers can't give everyone in a country a steady, fast connection there's nothing to brag about. Are they doing it on purpose to force everyone with a lousy internet to use a public connection? A connection that's easier to hack and control.

As years pass by I notice I'm no longer interested in what's going on on the web. I never really cared about social media and not fanatic enough to promote myself.

After all these years I mainly use it to search for info and of course visit all those sites the government sends me to. Since the government is the one who wants you to use the internet, have a bank account, and be online 24/7.

PhotoGrid_1613071815865.png

#kittywu #freewrite #internet #life #thoughts

See @mariannewest for the daily prompt

https://peakd.com/@mariannewest/day-1744-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-internet-trouble

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I remember our first computer and having what we called dial-up internet, I would do like you said, turn the computer on and go do other things while it loads. Now it is so different everything I want to know is there in a blink of an eye.