A Park Forgotten

in Freewriters4 years ago (edited)

itkip6.jpg

I didn't expect to get outside today and to my surprise I had two walks and exceeded my step goal of 6000 a day to 12000. It rained this morning and my fiancé told me yesterday we were supposed to get ten days of rain.

I'm thrilled that the weatherman was wrong. I walked a country block on my lunch (about 4000) because I snuck a quick sandwich before I actually took my lunch at my desk.

The sun wasn't out but it was warm and humid at just 70 degrees Fahrenheit.

jmcouu.jpg

I walked slow because I'm still healing from a back injury and the stiff hips linger post op 2018. Working after lunch went fast and my mood was much better because of the walk.

After work I walked up to Conneaut Lake Amusement Park. The weather was still on the overcast side and very windy. I wasn't in a hurry because I had leftovers from yesterday to eat for dinner and Jeff was traveling on his way home from work.

reivqj.jpg

I couldn't help but notice how truly rundown Conneaut Lake Park has become.

As a child I suppressed excitement for days anticipating our school picnic. We were bussed up to Conneaut Lake Park for the annual picnic. I just couldn't sleep the night before.

Paint is peeling on the abandoned rides and buildings. Benches are breaking,and broken. The park, a once teeming spot for tourism, has fallen into ruin.

I became critical inspector walking the midway through its rundown squalor as I mourned the park's slippery-slope into irreversible decay. It is well known that the original owners mismanaged the park something awful and no one has been able to recover that damage.

I walk to see the lake. I seek it to listen to water lap the lake shores and jostle pontoon boats and jet skis. Due to these times we are living in and perhaps today's lacks of sunshine, few people ventured to the park this evening. I counted, maybe, ten walkers and a couple of motorcycles and cars passing by. I wasn't truly counting. I was living the moments.

I walked slow back home and took a good long while wringing out the rest of daylight with the sounds of outdoors urging me to remain. My heart wishing to unthaw from more than just a long winter.

rp8lg9.jpg

It's a pity how much changed over the past forty-five plus years at Conneaut Lake Amusement Park.

This afternoon the wind blew fiercely a warm wind. I savored the sounds and smells of Spring and life. I now look forward to the next walk.

photos property of the author and captured 5/18/2020

This is my five minute freewrite using prompt inspector.

Check out @mariannewest daily prompts and join
hive-161155 @freewritehouse for opportunities to win Steem Basic Income weekly!

Sort:  

I love this. I am getting more overwhelmed with not going outside other than to work or store. I grew to be a home body to avoid being around crowds (no thanks to having anxiety around feeling safe anywhere, before this virus showed up.) But now that we are limited to where we can venture, I feel the want and need to go for a walk not consisting the apartment complex here. We have a waterfall park that is beautiful this time of year, but is closed for whatever reason they deem needs upgrading.) I would be lost in time seeing the park in your photo.
Thank you for sharing that. :) -hugs-

I'm glad you enjoyed it. The park has been one of my favorite places to go since I was little. Long before I eventually moved out here. I never imagined that I would live right by it, but sometimes life goes that way. I'm happiest when I live by the water. When my siberian husky was alive I would take her up there quite frequently and I miss her every time I take a walk. I hope you're doing well despite everything that we have to deal with right now. Take care and definitely take a walk! Thank you so much for stopping by and reading.

You're quite welcome. I like seeing photos of times gone by. I am hanging in there. Some days tougher than others, but it is what it is. I hear you on the missing your best friend. Many times I find myself recalling certain things with my dog that I miss. I still find myself talking to her at night. Hope you are well too.

It's going ok for the current circumstances. I admit I am weary of all of this. I've lost faith in our governing bodies locally and just want to get out and have a little bit of relaxation time. I am happy to report that my cat seems to have healed up pretty well since his scare. He had urinary blockage and a few trips to the vet. It has set me back a little bit but he's alive and doing okay. There's too much stress going on with the lockdown seemingly neverending. Hang in there, my friend. I will, too.

I hear that on being weary and the faith. Some days are so overwhelming that it takes all I can muster to stay intact. Life outside of my home (meaning work) is adding to the stress. Makes me wish more and more that I could work from home. If this lockdown crap happens all summer, it can lead to trouble. Am already sick of the mandatory masks and wearing gloves. That is scary with your kitty. Hope he heals quickly. I will hang in there to the best of my abilities. :)

I cannot imagine having to wear masks and gloves daily. Ugh! It is beyond my scope. I give you props. My thoughts are with you.

Thank you :) It is frustrating to have to do this. A lot of businesses are requiring it. It's funny though, (but said sarcastically) that I have seen mail carriers and package deliveries only wearing gloves, if that. It's sad we have to worry about being fired or fined if we don't use ppe. I bet if everyone stood up for their rights, this would have ended.

Good to go for a walk during these times.

Definitely helps the mind and body, doesn't it? Thanks for reading.

Proof of sharing
#posh