A knit of my love . 1/1/2022

in Freewriters2 years ago

Knitting was the only way to get out of not staring at her.
But despite the fact that I had something to distract me, I catch myself staring at the scanty hair on her head.

I could see her veins running through the forehead. She doesn't look better.

Though the nurse says she did better than yesterday everytime she comes in. I don't think so.

It was getting late, and it was time. I placed the half knitted scarf on the chair and moved closer to her.

The bowl of water was lukewarm, I dipped the towel in it and squeezed the water off. cleaning her face first, then her hands, they looked pale and Fragile.
She gave a weak smile as I washed her.
I smiled back.

The doctor said the cancer was in it's last stage, she knew what it meant, I do too.

We don't know when, but I hope I will finish the scarf before then, so I can get another smile from her.

knit-g39002c0f0_1920.jpg


Prompt : Bowl of water
Picture: Pixabay

The 5 minutes daily freewrites prompt, courtesy of @freewritehouse @mariannewest

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Prayers for whoever you are kitting the scarf for. Cancer is the utmost evil of all things on Earth.