Weekend Freewrite -3/7/2020 - Single Prompt Option: Salty Air

in Freewriters4 years ago

This week, I’m going with the single prompt option because I’m coming off the busiest week of the year!

Thanks @mariannewest for giving us the opportunity to choose!

I chose: Salty air


Nostalgia. I’m reminded of the first time I smelled the ocean. February 2006. I was attending a state university in the Midwest and had flown to Los Angeles to attend a conference with a group from my college ministry group. Kindly, my host took us to Santa Monica, giving us the change to brave the bone chilling Pacific.

But it proved to be gloriously refreshing, along with pretty sweet bragging rights to family and friends back home! As my feet numbed to the water, I ventured further and further from the shoreline. The rest of my group stayed at the edge of the water. Seagulls ventured all around us. The beach itself was practically empty.  

It felt like we had accomplished something. We drove as far as we could and we made it to the edge of the world, or so it seemed. 

While in the area, we also walked the Pier but its not bookmarked in my member the same way as being in the ocean.

This episode ended quickly because we couldn’t stay too long. Actually that was for the better because the cold water, plus the water and wind chilled us to the bone. Still, I remember sensing the warmth of the sun on my face when I smelled the salty air for the very first time. 

Sort:  

Congratulations @wurtzmj! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 20 posts. Your next target is to reach 30 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Downvote challenge - Add up to 3 funny badges to your board
Use your witness votes and get the Community Badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

The air has such a different quality to it. I love going to the beach and walk along filling my lungs with the ocean air.