I died and my brother lived

in Freewriters26 days ago

One of the most violent things in Spanish literature

I did not forgive my twin brother who abandoned me for six minutes in my mother’s womb, and left me there alone, terrified in the dark, floating like an astronaut in my mother’s womb, listening to the kisses showered on him from the other side.
Those were the longest six minutes of my life, and they ultimately determined that my brother would be my mother's firstborn and favorite
Since then, I have been ahead of my brother in all places: from the room, from home, from school, to the cinema, even though it cost me to watch the end of the movie.
One day I got distracted, and my brother went out into the street before me, and while he was looking at me with his gentle smile, a car ran over him. I remember that my mother, upon hearing the sound of the blow, ran from the house and passed in front of me. Her arms were extended towards my brother’s body, but she was screaming my name. Until this moment, I never corrected her mistake.
I died and my brother lived

A short story by the Spanish writer: Rafael Nobu