Archmage Diane

in Freewriters2 years ago

lighthouse_gc1687689a_1920.jpg

Warm orange light emanated from the floating torches along the edges of the stone staircase. The sounds of their footsteps echoed up and down the tower, muffled lightly by the swishing of their robes.

     “I’m glad you got back to me. I’d been hoping to receive feedback from anyone, but someone of your stature? I’m eternally grateful,” Frederick rung his hands, licking his lips and wetting his moustache before brushing the hairs away from his mouth.

     “It’s the least I could do. Your father was a great friend of mine, you know?” Diane looked back for a moment, offering a brief smile to her guest.

     “I had heard. But the people from our village, they always said that he made it all up. I see now that he was telling the truth all along. I – I never should have doubted him,” Frederick said.

     “Don’t worry, many people lie about knowing me. Without proof it’s hard to take anyone at face value, even your own father if everyone around you looks down on him. How is he?”

     “He’s been better. Bed-bound, but in high spirits.”

     “I’m sorry to hear that. He was… is a great man.”

     Having reached the top of the stairs, Diane pressed her hand to the bronze doorknob and whispered a quiet spell. A sparkle of magic dissipated from the door, and she pressed it open.

     “I’m sorry to be so forward, but if you knew my father… Why is it that you look so young?” Frederick asked, stepping into the door before it closed.

     “Now, now. A lady never reveals her secrets!”


Today's prompt: feedback

This week's worldbuilding prompt: wonders and achievements

Image Source

If you'd like to participate too, the contest/prompts can be found here:
https://ecency.com/hive-161155/@mariannewest/day-1653-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-feedback

https://ecency.com/hive-191038/@worldbuilder/worldbuilding-prompt-262-brightest-mind

Sort:  

Hi @zedcell,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

it's a strange feeling when Diane pressed her hand to the doorknob but she ended by whispering. it's a terrifying tower