Epic

castle-5166062_1280.jpg

Epic

Engrossed in epic stories
I feel like myself
But part of me still worries
That it’s too grandiose

Try to scale my expectations
To a normal human size
But I don’t have a mission
So I can barely even try

No road stretches before me
Just a parking lot of doubt
Maybe someone else was chosen
Or the beacons were snuffed out

The stories that make sense to me
Don’t seem to match the world
I wish that I could reconcile
The gaps that I’ve observed


A few weeks ago my teenage niece moved across the country, so in order to give us something to talk about during zoom video chats and to motivate us to be creative we started a system where we each write a poem during the week. This is a poem I wrote as part of that.

(header image is this image from Pixabay)

Sort:  

You started to command my attention, here:

Just a parking lot of doubt

I enjoyed those last two quatrains & felt your existential quandary. Nice exercise you got going there with your family member — I okay such serious games with my nieces & nephews, too 😊

What a great poem, it is literally very epic, I loved the image and this paragraph caught my attention:

No road stretches before me
Just a parking lot of doubt
Maybe someone else was chosen
Or the beacons were snuffed out

Hugs friend

This is so cute, I never had anyone to write poetry with before. Great piece as well, I hope you share more @danmaruschak

This poem sounds somehow grieve. But I believe there road will be open for you. Cheer up💪

Congratulations @danmaruschak! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 9000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 10000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

I love the means through which you all connect across time and space. This can be enough. I love love it