You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Belong: a poem.

"I get the distinct feeling that nothing would change if I disappeared. That no one would really care. And that's okay."

Perhaps it's ego, but I never can seem to get to that last point. It is okay if no one notices, because I know I always put in where I can. It doesn't matter if I'm noticed or not, my little inputs into the lives of others have effects far greater than I can imagine. But damn is it hard to actually swallow that. Especially after years of giving and feeling like no one gives in return, or worse, they don't care. Apathy from others is worse than hatred IMHO.

I love the poem, I need the reminder of what I belong to: myself, and something so much bigger than myself.

Sort:  

I hear you. I know I post on social media and here on Hive to be seen, to share who I am because part of human nature is to connect. I know I've touched the lives of others, and yet sometimes I feel so insignificant. I guess humility is sitting with that and not being bothered. We are rather small, when compared to the ocean and sky and mountains and time.

Thanks very much for the thoughtful comment. I'm so glad you liked my poem.