Watching a child grow

in Blockchain Poets2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Ms year 6
graduated today.
That's it for primary school
well, will be on Friday
After the ceremonial
jump in the pool
in full uniform
(note to self: minus the shoes!)

Ambivalence.
Look it up. It's how I feel
So proud of my baby
So scared for her future
What if all of her hopes and her wishes
come true?
And what if they don't?
What if the world grimly reminds her that
not all succeed, for some of us
won't see the life that we dream of?

When the world takes me, as the world will
I hope that I'm happy
And happier still
is my girl:
grown and healthy
and smart and befriended
and all of the things that she
sees 'fore her ending.

drwom_03.png

Total thanks to @ryivhnn for my awesome Wombat footer!
May all beings be happy!

*Thanks to Pixabay.com for the photo

Sort:  

I thought this part was particularly interesting:

Ambivalence.
Look it up. It's how I feel
So proud of my baby
So scared for her future
What if all of her hopes and her wishes
come true?
And what if they don't?

It's probably framed in a good/bad/good/bad pattern, but having "what if all her hopes and wishes come true" come right after "so scared for her future" made me consider the line in a more ambiguous, ambivalent way than I otherwise might have: the "what if" opener seems like a natural follow-on about something to be scared of, but the "hopes and wishes come true" is usually a more positive sentiment, but maybe doesn't have to be. So I liked how the ambivalence was there between the lines (proud/scared, come true/don't) but also potentially within the ideas.

Thanks for this thoughtful reply!

Excuse me WHAT since when was that tiny child borderline highschool aaaaahhhhhhhh.

I know! Something doesn't seem right!
It's sad and wonderful both 🙂

'Watching a child grow' a wonderful process full of feelings, so beautifully described.

Thanks Kirlos - I really appreciate the feedback!

When the world takes me, as the world will
I hope that I'm happy
And happier still
is my girl:
grown and healthy
and smart and befriended
and all of the things that she
sees 'fore her ending.

That final verse is cracking m8, just wonderful. I don't have children myself but this verse particularly expresses perfectly the sentiments I see in my friends who are fathers.

All the best for you and your family @drwom

Thanks! That feedback means a lot, appreciated!
All the best to you and yours too!

What a nice poem you have here. Keep up the good work

El niño que llevamos dentro también forma parte de nuestra poesía, sobre todo cuando tenemos hijos! Bello poema, @drwom

Congratulations @drwom! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!