Last Rounds

A poem for my father, whom by a grace from God I was able to find poetry in real time. My father worked hard during his career as a boiler plant operator/building engineer. Part of the job is doing rounds around the building and mechanical equipment. Using his knowledge and keen eyes for making sure everything is in working order. Now retired he asked me to accompany him as he volunteers to open and close the local church daily, and then it hit me.

Last Rounds

Nights, weekends, and holidays
You spent working away
Providing for us a sheltered life
Never once showing an ounce of strife

Heavy eyes and tired legs
Giving up on parties and kegs
Boilers roaring on cold winter days
Gaining wisdom and showing your grays

Eventually becoming chief of the plant
Garnering respect where the rough would not rant
For everyone knew what they would lose
Bury hatchets and move on from the news

I blinked and now I can see
How unfair time can sometimes be
For now I grow sad that you are old
And it makes the summer breeze feel cold

Now a trip you invite me to see
And then some wisdom befell upon me
The Lord has some last rounds for you to make
And some of His Divine poetry shall I partake

Open the doors and let His people in
Close up at night and tuck the Lord in
Check the heat and the donation box
Check the lights and secure the door locks

The Lord has one more round for you Dad
I love you and I'm no longer sad
Because God is providing your way
And I cant wait to see you there one day

Sort:  

Okay. I really loved this one. You can tell that it is from the heart. I'm not even a religious person but this was wonderful.

thank you sir for the nice comment and Im happy to hear that it touched you, it certainly was raw from my heart, also texas rocks and but i could only imagine how beautiful the philippines would be to live, my best friend was filipino, what an amazing people, big fan of the Filipino community!!

Yeah, it's great here in the Philippines but I do miss Texas quite a bit. If I could afford to go, I'd go for a nice long visit. Almost every Filipino I have met was great. I've been around them for 43+ years too.

There is a real open honesty to this poem that shows how your father worked relentlessly for you and the rest of your family.

I particularly liked this stanza as it gave me that feeling of tiredness, and your father's relentless will to better his position.

Heavy eyes and tired legs
Giving up on parties and kegs
Boilers roaring on cold winter days
Gaining wisdom and showing your grays

Great poem, I really enjoyed it 👍

thanks again for the reply , i really appreciate it!

Congratulations @highsteam1900! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 100 replies.
Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the May PUM Winners
Feedback from the June Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - May 2023 Winners List

That is lovely. Genuine, and loving. Just what the world needs more of, truthful words and loving feelings. Thank you for writing this poem!