What if? The struggles of the Mind

in Blockchain Poets2 years ago


Image source

Just when I think the worst is behind me,
I wake up to yet another nightmare,
Down and out is where I could be,
Worn out and too apathetic to care!

The mind spins in circles bent half with worry,
The head reels and races between yesterdays and tomorrows,
Beauty of the days past left behind,
The future seems bleak with no light in sight!

Is this how I feel?
Is this what I think?
"No not me, not me!," I scream
Tears rush down as I blink.

What if there is no tomorrow,
What if pain is the only future?
What if I cannot overcome,
Would desperation win?

Not if I am in my right mind,
Not if I look back into the not so distant past,
And see the times,
When I've seen the light even when it was overcast!

There is hope, there is a future,
There is love and there is life,
What I have now I need to hold tight,
Believing that I have the power to make things right!

What of friends who have turned foes?
What of those who have become icy cold?
There never was love to begin with, heaven knows!
Open your eyes and the truth behold!

Is life over? Is this the end?
Why would it be so my friend?
Until there is breath, there is hope,
Seek and you'd find it around the bend!

With faith and hope,
And the will to fight,
I can always look ahead,
To a future happy and bright!

Pain is only a part of life,
There is no point in denial and strife,
Taking each day as it comes,
Counting my blessings one by one.

It's easy to fall into the abyss,
Of depression and hopelessness,
Deep into melancholy's pits,
Stand up! Overcome your brokenness!

Life is to be lived to its fullness,
Let those who mock, mock on,
Press on like a solider,
Until victory is yours!

Have you ever wondered if this phase you are going through will ever end? I seem to be doing this a lot lately. My problems started in March last year and since then its been pouring troubles ever since. I have to work really hard to keep my inner peace. What next? This question pops up and in a moment destroys the peace within for which I have worked so diligently.

However, to be honest amidst all these trials there is peace deep down. It's true that I do have moments of worry and anxiety for a while at the strange turn of events but within hours my mind is at rest no matter how tough the news is. This is something I have to be grateful for constantly.

Life really prepares you for the worst I guess. This is in a way a blessing, because you start to count the small joys in life and learn to smile. The power of little things, the power to be able to laugh in the face of worry is a true blessing. A blessing we seem to underestimate so often. I honestly believe it is worth cultivating inner peace, letting go of anxiety and asking yourself , how bad can things get? If so what? Haven't people around me lived through such moments? and happily too at that?

I summon my courage, strengthen that inner resolve which likes to hide like a child, from the fears that eventide brings. The shadows, the eerie and sinister sounds, perhaps of being left alone to deal with the devils of the night. Yet a raggedy, old teddy has the power to cast out those fears.

Doesn't every child grow up and conquer those fears? So why not me? No one has a blue print to the future, none at all. We can hardly predict what could happen to the world with maniacs like Putin, Xi or Kim Jong Un around. We all live in hope, believing in the best. Life is about faith and hope. Let worry rest!

This post is just an expression of what has been going on in my mind over the last two months. There is no relief in sight, but the relief or the peace we seek comes from within. I know its best to dig deep within than to look around for hope.

I hang on believing that this too shall pass!

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Hi @sofs-su. Thanks for submitting a poem to Blockchain Poets and joining our little group. I really appreciate it!

A few things about our group:

  • We like interaction in this group. So please comment on at least two other poem posts for every poem you post. For example, if you post 1 poem, please comment on at least 2 other posts from our group. If you post 2 poems, please comment on at least 4 other posts. And so on.
  • To encourage interaction, everyone who comments on at least two other posts for every poem they post will be entered in a drawing for shares of SBI. This drawing is weekly.
  • Also, everyone who does the above will be given 10 Ecency POINTS. In addition, you will be in a drawing for 50 POINTS.
  • Please make an effort to reply to anyone who comments on your post. Again, we really want to encourage interaction. Also, replying is just polite.
  • Finally, currently Blockchain Poets is sponsored by PIMP which is run by @enginewitty. Be sure to use the #PIMP tag on your posts. Doing so will do two things for you: 1) It will enter you in the weekly drawing for 50 PIMP (provided you also follow the commenting rule mentioned above), and 2) it will make you visible to the PIMP community where you will gain additional exposure.

Again, thanks for joining! I hope to see more poems from you in the future!

banner.png

Thanks @hive-161465
I will try to interact with the blockchain poets more.
I guess I should have read the rules first, sorry about that.
Thanks for letting me know the rules here.

-Hi Ma'am Sof! I hope you are doing well! As long as God is with us we have hope! Friends turned foes? Well, it's their choice, good thing to do is just continue to be good, and consider that everything we do is being offered to God, true friends stay with us, no matter what our status in life they will stay, but if someone show change well let's just respect their decision, because whether you do good, if they don't like you they will never stay and will always leave you! All the problems are part of our life, it's a great experience because we are reminded to also check ourselves why things like this are happening to us, so the chance to improve ourselves is always there. And in these moments we became closer to God. You know what? I don't mind if I don't have my old friends anymore, or followers, but still I pray for them and for their success and happiness it's better to be alone than to stay with people who are not true to us, best thing is to treasure and love those who are in our lives who continue to show love and care for us! . I will just post my articles even if people will not appreciate my posts, I will not think of the rewards anymore even though I truly need it because of our life condition now, I have a great faith that God will bless me in his blessed way and in his time. Thank you Ma'am Sof for this wonderful post! God bless you always and have a blessed evening!🌷

Thanks @aimharryianne
At this point in my life nothing really matters other than living each day happily and doing the things I love. Like I said peace is from within and that is peace beyond all understanding which comes from God and his word. I am truly grateful to have that.
The least of my concerns is the friends and followers online. LOL
Hope all is well with you.

-Happy to know your happy Ma'am! I am getting better, each day I am learning better things in life hoping that God will always guide me...I wish and pray God will bless you more! Have a blessed morning!🌷

Hello Sof, hope you are doing well? Nice to hear from you again. I have been fighting my own demons too and it's been a daunting experience. However, whenever I drift away, I remember myself that I have to keep pushing through to the very end and that's what I have been doing

Hi @nonsowrites
Glad to hear from you. I hope all is well with you.
Hmm.. I know you to be a great fighter, press on warrior.
You will surely come through in shining colors.
Take care.

I feel you @sofs-su 😊 Thank you for sharing your thoughts❤
I've been through a lot in life, too. But every time I got to win them, one after the other, I realized that in life we have to accept fear to know courage and we must expect struggles to become stronger. Most importantly, we must believe that problems came to us because we are strong enough to handle them.😇
As a newbie here, I am extremely delighted to read inspiring poetry and stories like this!🥰

Thank you @ciadanmea
Nods head in total agreement.
The more we fight the stronger we become, its important to remain positive and press on ahead no matter what.
Take care.

This post is just an expression of what has been going on in my mind over the last two months. There is no relief in sight, but the relief or the peace we seek comes from within. I know its best to dig deep within than to look around for hope.

I hang on believing that this too shall pass!

There's few rules to be follow,
Stop spending too much time in the past. Live in the present and leave the past alone. If you adhere to this rule, your life will be a little more enjoyable!

Overly anticipating the future: You can never know what awaits you in the immediate future. So why make yourself more confused by considering the future? So, make an effort to make the most of your present!

Dreaming of something that is out of your reach:
The adage "nothing is impossible" is well-known, but it cannot always be applied. So be aware of your limitations, choose a goal, and work arduously to achieve it!

You are aware of your abilities. But for reasons of fear or other related factors, you decide not to try it at all. Simply trust your gut and seize the opportunities life presents you with!

I hope you have a lovely day for the day ahead, @sofs-su .

That's right, I am not one to spend time in the past or bemoan my state. This is as I said an expression of the mind and how I work through negative thoughts. Sometimes you just need to express them and give vent to your feelings., what other means than through poetry?
If I didn't try to get out of my problems I'll be dead now lol, nope, I work hard on them everyday.
Thanks for stopping by.

Poetry is truly beautiful when it expresses a broken heart or a euphoric mind.
You are expressing every single emotion that you are experiencing. That is what makes poetry truly beautiful.

Poetry is a litmus test for justice. The human ear can detect justice—or the absence of justice—in every sound that comes from man's mouth. And this is the only poetry theory that exists. Each line of a poem or speech is either right or wrong.

I am hoping to hear more from you. Take care @sofs-su

So true, poetry is a true expression of the heart's cry.
As for me it is a creative outlet for emotions which could otherwise turn negative.
To be honest I am going through a huge baggage of health issues and I need to give vent to my frustration, but I hate focusing on negative thoughts, but I do allow myself to do this once in a while to let off steam.
Thanks once again for stopping by @mell79

To be honest I am going through a huge baggage of health issues and I need to give vent to my frustration, but I hate focusing on negative thoughts, but I do allow myself to do this once in a while to let off steam.

I hope a miracle is happening to you and that feeling down or frustrated is okay. We are humans, and we are not perfect.
As soon as we attained that state of highest realization, everyone would be able to enjoy heaven on earth.
Get angry, let it out. It's ok.
We are allowed to vent. It shall pass.

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 14000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - November 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I think you are right.. Life does prepare us for the tragedy it holds in our futures. The older we get the better our ability to cherish the small moments and make the feeling last. Same goes for our innocent years when we are unaware children. I guess everything in between sucks. hehe. Hang in there and keep positive! 😊

LOL everything in between sucks!
I do tend to think its true at times.
I am hanging in there getting stronger by the day.
Thanks for those kind words @bdmillergallery

Dear @sofs-su, sorry to jump in a bit off-topic.
May I ask you to review and support the new proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/240) so I can continue to improve and maintain this service?
You can support the new proposal (#240) on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!