International Poetry Competition With Top Prize of $1000!!!

in Blockchain Poetslast year (edited)

image.png

I wanted to share one of my entries with you guys and also to let you know that The Plough Poetry Competition for 2023 is still accepting submissions, but only for TWO more days!!! If you are interested in taking part in the competition, you can submit your entry by paying a fee of £5.00. Good luck to all the participants!

Dual Identity

The struggle of two worlds,
A life lived under two roofs,
One a warm embrace,
The other an open door,
The heart torn in two,
A yearning for both,
But never finding a true home.
The search for acceptance,
In a world that cannot see,
The beauty of my soul,
Hidden beneath my skin,
The weight of expectation,
The need to fit in,
A struggle that never ends.
The curious glances,
The whispered words,
A stranger in my own land,
A foreigner in my home,
The pride in my culture,
The love for my land,
But still feeling out of place,
In this world that I can't understand.
A brown girl with golden hair,
A contradiction, so it seems,
A mix of two worlds,
A blend of two dreams,
A poet with a pen,
A warrior with a heart,
Still searching for a place,
A place where I can be a part.

This poem is written from the perspective of my friend who is struggling with how she looks.