How do you stop yourself from financial self sabotage?

in Quello4 years ago

Self sabotage is the number one thing that stops people from really having the financial success they desire.

How do one break free from this mental demon that's bent on making us less than our true potential?


This question was created on quello.io, Quello is a question and answer platform built exclusively for Hive. Answer this question on Quello by clicking here.

Sort:  

Hi @jjdowie!

Congrats on your first question on Quello.

Your question has received a small upvote from Quello.io.

We'd love to hear your feedback or any suggestions you have surrounding Quello. You can get in touch by replying to this comment or joining our Discord.

We recently launched a proposal on Hive to support the development and growth of Quello. You can read more about it and support it here.

Thank you for using Quello.


Need help Join us on Discord here

I think the answer to this is highly dependant upon the person and how the demon affects them. Some general tips are to develop healthy attitudes to money but encouraging good record keeping and reviewing ROI, spending, regular expenses, subscriptions, income and time usage.

When I played poker, I would walk in with a set amount of money in my pocket and I either left when that money ran out or I was done for the evening (up). The one time I found myself breaking that rule - and yes, I did bust due to bad beats and yes, I could afford to "borrow" the buy-in from my budget for the next night - but that wasn't the point. Ten minutes into sitting down at a new table with my buy in, I cashed out then benched myself for 3 months. When the stakes of going degen are high then you have to be extremely harsh on breaches of discipline.