Sort:  
 4 years ago  

We coupled that with a lock at anytime feature presently available in the switch account feature. Also logging out essentially works as a lock as well

I'd prefer not to have to manually lock it. Although, it's only storing posting key now, isn't it? In that case it probably doesn't matter so much. So how do we do transactions with the active key now? We don't have to enter each time do we??

Now only the posting key is stored. PeakLock has been created as a 'mobile' first solution. So the changes behind this release are mostly focused on making it easier for mobile users.

The active key is required on each transaction ...but a password manager will be an easy solution in this case.

That said we are still collecting feedback and trying to make it better finding the perfect balance between all the possibile solutions. If you still think there is something that should be changed just let us know ;)

Why not have the active key stored like in the first version? What's the downside compared to say keychain which stores the active key? It's encrypted, so should be safe. I'll be honest, though, I'm only using it until Keychain becomes available on the google store.

The point is that also in the first version to use the active key the pin code was required. So a manual input was required. And for some users is easier to just fill the field from the password manager than to write the pin code.

It's not for me. My password manager has a (undisclosed large number) letter password. A 5 digit pin key is much easier.

Regarding active key use, I just transferred some HIVE and had to enter my active key. Is the transaction singed on my machine such that the active key isn't sent over the net? I'd hope so.

Yep, this is not changed. Keys are never sent over the network.

Also took note of the feedback. I'll talk to @jarvie so we can define if we need to do some adjustments ;)