You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New draft Layout + more new features and fixes

in About PeakD4 years ago

Loving the improvements. Thanks for all your hard work.

Feature request: Add a "hot" filter like on busy.org. I really hate looking through trending at the same posts everyday. At the same time I don't want to look at all the new posts. busy.org "hot" filter has provided me interesting content to review throughout the day. At the moment I have to browse busy.org and then if I like the content I use peakd with hive keychain to comment/vote. Bottom line peakd is way better than any other interface for most things and I want to exclusively use it. Hope this is easy to implement.

Thanks for your time. Cheers.

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

I've thought about that algorithm recently. We don't like that it's called "hot" but i guess that is what steemit inc named it. Any suggestions what we could rename it?
I have never used that sorting mechanism is it any good?
Right now we don't have many good sorting algorithms... just the algorithm known as trending and then sort chronologically.


Btw technicaly it's not a filter... it's a sorting method. An algorithm used to sort posts in each topic page. Or on the ALL TOPICS page.

Thanks for the education. I wish I knew programming to have an intelligent conversation about the algorithm.

I do not recall which front end used hot algorithm first. Without knowing how the code works I cannot tell you what a better option would be. My experience has been that hot algorithm provided a better search experience for content outside of my personal follow list.

Name ideas to replace hot: engaged, tagged, boosted, suggested, recommended, popular, moments.

Whatever it is called and algorithm tweaked. Something other than trending and new (I would make the new algorithm default) would be great for me as nd I am sure would look better for new users/potential users.