Some Pictures of Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma Revisited

in STEMGeeks4 months ago

This is the same case of Anaplastic Large Cell Lymphoma previously shared here with different sets of images. I got to revisit the case after the physician requested a new set of images for their case report series for publishing.

These were all taken from a 400x magnification view. Everything you see here are sheets of tumor cells that are discohesive with neighboring cells. Nothing looks ordinary, there's no regularity on their membranes, some cells are actively dividing, there's no clear boundaries between cells and the hyperchromatic nuclear membranes tell it's actively producing something to prolong their lives and replicate.

image_508.png

image_511.png

image_514.png

image_512.png

A lot about the case has already been said on the previous post. I'm just sharing these pics as it's also one of the cases that I'll never forget in my career under Pathology Training given how much time and resources I spent just to facilitate some closure over this.

In a resource limited setting, I sometimes pay for the expenses the patient incurs out of pocket without expecting any reimbursement. If you think I'm being generous, that's one way of looking at it but to me, I'm just doing it because I can, have the choice and probably sleep better at night for selfish reasons that had good outcomes. The patient already expired, not sure if I mentioned this in the previous post.

I'm not really sure if I'll be posting on this account again in the future. Maybe it would just be random science stuff I found online as I had the idea of just using this account for sharing interesting finds at work. I'm going to be unemployed next year and will reevaluate on whether I want to come back to Pathology training or shift to another field of specialty in medicine. Probably my last post here until further notice.

If you made it this far reading, thank you for your time.

Posted using STEMGeeks

Sort:  

Aw! I enjoyed your posts so I'll miss them but I also wish you well in your new endeavours

It's a weird transition on whether I want to totally abandon the profession like medicine or come back to it but not as a pathologist in training. I'm just trying to figure my life out right now.

Interesting how many days you took to finally get a diagnosis in this case? It looks pretty complicated for sure.


Want to Know more about Hivepakistan?

Ping Us On Hive Pakistan Discord server

To support HivePakistan, delegate Hive Power to hivepakistan and earn 90% curation reward :)

Here are some handy links for delegation


| 50 HP | 100 HP |500 HP | 1000 HP | 5000 HP | 10000 HP | 20000 HP |

A delegation of 500 or more HP makes you earn Hivepakistan supporter badge.

About 3 weeks, less than a week if the processing times had been cut shorter. Some of the tests were only done weekly because the reagents are expensive to just run on a whim, it had to be done in batches.

reagents are expensive

You work for a private or public hospital/institution? I had a pathologist friend in a hospital around here, he never complained that the hospital didn't buy a reagent, that is very alarming when the pathologist is concerned about the price of a reagent probably because the institution doesn't buy enough?

Enough is a tricky word to use since the problem isn't just having an adequate supply, it's the circumstances around like having the paperwork and justifying the timely purchase and factors that are outside the technical side and more of admin work. I don't mind these things because these are beyond my pay grade and I just work with what I find myself into.

You work for a private or public hospital/institution?

Government.

Ok now it is clear, the problem is bureaucracy! I feel your problem , I work for a gov. department right now and the project needs a cloud instance to run the system that I created. However, until now for 2 years almost, I still didin't get all the approvals to use the cloud instance from the administration.

Feels good that you brought up the B word directly as this was what I was thinking but had to state it indirectly. There's just stuff we can't control and leave it to the executives to make the calls and sometimes they just see operations differently above.

Congratulations @adamada.stem! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP