JavaScript - The Basics

in STEMGeeks2 years ago (edited)

js-basic.png

Learning to code and programming takes time, if someone says coding is easy, you have to rethink it, but all of this is doable, it just takes time.

After a long hiatus and leaving writing syntax and understanding coding logic, now I have to go back to learning from scratch the basics of JavaScript.

I did all this as one of the requirements to get a scholarship to study Back-End Developer which will be taught by Dicoding in September, there are three courses requirements that I must pass, one of which is basic JavaScript.

Many things I re-learned about JavaScript such as a basic introduction to JavaScript, its history and also writing code in JavaScript.

console.log("Hello, World!");

I'm sure everyone has done the same thing when they first learned to code.

Comments

Then I learned about writing comments, both one-line comments and comments in the form of explanatory sentences

// This is a one-line comment, the code below will not run

// console.log("Halo!");

This comment will not be read by the interpreter, another example of writing a comment is as follows;

/* This is a comment with more than one line
Any text that is here will be used as a comment.
*/

I also do the task of calculating if logic to evaluate the score value;

function scoreChecker(score) {
  let result;

  // TODO
  if(score>=90){
  result = 'Selamat! Anda mendapatkan nilai A.';
  }
    
  else if(score>=80 && score<=89){
  result = 'Anda mendapatkan nilai B.';
  }
    
  else if(score>=70 && score<=79){
  result = 'Anda mendapatkan nilai C.'; 
  }
    
  else if(score>=60 && score<=69){
  result = 'Anda mendapatkan nilai D.';
  }
    
  else{
  result = 'Anda mendapatkan nilai E.';
  }


  // Do not delete this
  return result;
}

console.log(scoreChecker(90));

/**
 * Don't delete the code below
 */
module.exports = scoreChecker;

And many more to learn

There are many other basic things that I learned during this course, ranging from Variables, Data types, Operators, Conditional statements, Switch case statements, and loops.

At the end of each section, each participant is provided with a quiz to test the extent of our understanding of the material that has been taught.

Finally, Knowledge Check

This is the most challenging part, the exam with a set time, which is five minutes to answer 3 questions with a 100% passing score.

testing.png

I had to take nine tests to qualify 100%, I failed from the first try to the eighth try, the new ninth attempt I succeeded and passed.

The next material is Data Structures, I will share my experience with learning Data Structures in my next post.

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Way to go, dude!

!discovery 17

I hope I can work it out, dude!

That is awesome, I am also in the process of learning javascript, more specific for front end coding! Nice beginnings that you brought
!1UP

Thanks for stopping by, @gwajnberg, nice to hear you're also learning JavaScript, I'm also interested in the front end, but I feel that I'm lacking in design, so I decided to try the back end, and hopefully I can finish this course and build projects with it.

Hopefully you'll get that one! I've heard of dicoding and I guess I checked them out once in the past. But, How much does the scholarship worth? is it online course or do they have an offline classes too? I am probably trying with Le Wagon either this or next year since they also have the offline school and impressed with their learning system.

Hopefully you'll get that one!

Hopefully, @macchiata.

I've heard of dicoding and I guess I checked them out once in the past. But, How much does the scholarship worth? is it an online course or do they have offline classes too?

As far as I know, these is only online-based courses, this is also part of the Dicoding program in collaboration with Indosat and IDcamp, I got a coupon to study three classes before moving on to the Back-end developer section which will be held in September, hopefully, I can catch up and finish on time.

I am probably trying with Le Wagon either this or next year since they also have an offline school and are impressed with their learning system.

I just found out that Le Wagon has offline classes, long ago when I was looking for HTML tutorials, I've watched the Le Wagon Bootcamp, it seems from France, and from what I read from your comment above that Le Wagon has offline classes, I did a little research, and it turns out that they have an offline Bootcamp too, right? And Bali is a good place and the right choice.

I hope you can finish the Bootcamp.

Don-1UP-Cheers-Cartel-250px.png

You have received a 1UP from @gwajnberg!

The following @oneup-cartel family members will soon upvote your post:
@stem-curator, @vyb-curator, @pob-curator, @pal-curator
And they will bring !PIZZA 🍕

Learn more about our delegation service to earn daily rewards. Join the family on Discord.


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thanks, Ecency.

Iqbal, may I ask about the cover picture - is it you made the capture?

Yes, I made it using canva with free image from unsplash.