AMAZING ASIA [#3: Mount Bromo, Indonesia, The epic sunrise hunting]

in Pinmapple2 years ago

Indonesia, which is the largest archipelago in the worlds, is a country located in Southeast Asia. The country is made up of 5 major islands and around 30 smaller groups, lying between Pacific and Indian Oceans. It is famous for the diverse cultures across its islands, beautiful landscape, tropical rainforests, jungles, and especially volcanoes. Yes, I mean active volcanoes!

In this blog, I will share with you my experience of witnessing the sunrise over the black sand desert around Mount Bromo, an active somma volcano in East Java, Indonesia.

image.png

WHERE IS MOUNT BROMO AND HOW TO REACH THERE?

Mount Bromo is located about 4 hours drive from Surabaya, the capital of East Java, and is part of the Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park, which covers an area of 800 square kilometers. While Mt Bromo is small in comparison to other volcanoes in Indonesia, it will not disappoint with its spectacular views and dramatic landscapes.

To reach there, I flew from Ho Chi Minh city to Surabaya with a short transit in Singapore. Then, I moved to a village in Probolinggo.

image.png

image.png

WHERE TO REST BEFORE THE TREK?

I stayed at Yoschi's Hotel in Probolinggo and super enjoyed their hospitality though it was a short stop.

As my flight was delayed, I reached the hotel at around 10pm and enjoyed my late dinner. You can take a tour from either city to Mount Bromo, or you can rent a scooter/car and drive yourself if you're feeling adventurous.

image.png

image.png

image.png

THE SUNRISE HUNTING

To prepared for the trip, I booked the travel agent in advance for the one-day tour at Bromo. (There are many tour options for you to choose, and for some options, you do not need to stay at the hotel for time and cost saving).

The local guide picked me and my friend at the hotel at 2am and we reached Penanjakan Hill at around 3.30am to chase the sunrise. The temperature at the vantage point was not cold compared to freezing snow mountain but will definitely make you feel chilly, so it is better to prepare some jackets to not get your body shivering or your nose running.

It comes as no surprise that Mount Bromo sites are highly crowded at morning. If you want to avoid the crowds, it's best to go during the week as weekends are usually busier with local tourists. Additionally, the cost of entering a National Park is substantially lower on weekdays.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Regardless of how you get to Penanjakan, you will have a few different views of Mount Bromo to choose from. In general, higher viewpoints are less crowded because they require more effort to reach. If you have the time, I recommend climbing to the highest point possible because the view improves as you go higher.

image.png

image.png

GET LOST IN THE SEA OF SAND

After catching the sunrise, at around 6am, we moved to Mount Bromo on a jeep. As the tour already included the entrance fee, in case you traveled by yourself, the total entrance fee to enter Mount Bromo is less than $20, which is acceptable for such a famous sightseeing.

You will most likely struggle if you do not drive fast through the thick sand. There are numerous areas where the sand is so soft and thick that you will become stuck or slide around.

We made our way over to the Mount Bromo hike entrance after having fun in the sand.
[Note: Don’t ride the horse across the sea of sand as it encourages the continuation of animal cruelty.]

image.png

Mt Bromo (2,392 meters) is not the tallest mountain in Indonesia, but its stunning beauty lies in its incredible surroundings.

image.png

image.png

HIKING TO THE TOP

It took approximately 30 minutes to trek from the basement to the peak, depending on your fitness level.

From my research, the best time to visit Mount Bromo is during dry season, from April to October. I visited in August, so it was perfect for us to trek and appreciate the outstanding view from above.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

Due to increased volcanic activity, the Bromo Tengger Semeru National Park is occasionally closed. Although this is unlikely to have an impact on your trip, it is worth noting. If the park is closed at any time, you should be able to find out either online or from locals.

Mount Bromo sunrise is my most epic and favorite sunrise so far. The stunning viewpoint, the atmosphere, and the majestic mountains are all that make the experience unforgettable.

Thank you for reading about my favorite place to catch the sunrise in Indonesia. I hope you like it and add it to your travel bucket list.

From a rainy Saigon with love,
Leo

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @afomonomad. This is an exciting place for hiking. I have been in Indonesia for almost 1 year. However, the one thing that I regret the most is that I hadn't visited all of the must-see sights in Indonesia.

Let save this experience for next time @trangtran23 ;)))
Thanks for loving this post.

Hi @trangtran23.
Thanks for supporting me all the times.
I sadly admit that in this post I recycled some mentioned contents without giving them the proper credit. You put your trust in me and expected me to be honest with my provided content, but I let you down. I sincerely apologize for disappointing you.
This is my first instance of plagiarism and it will undoubtedly be my last. I'll be much more careful with my posts in the future, especially when it comes to citing other people's work.
Thank you so much.

I don't know what to say. But I hope next time you need to be more careful.

Congratulations @afomonomad! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 100 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1649.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

So excited! Thanks @pinmapple team for supporting my blog.

Source of potential plagiarism 1
Source of potential plagiarism 2
Source of potential plagiarism 3

There is reasonable evidence that this article has been spun, rewritten, or reworded. Posting such content is considered plagiarism and/or fraud. Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.
Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Respected @hivewatchers,
I accept this mistake! I recycled some mentioned contents without giving them the proper credit.
There is no justification for what I did because it was wrong. I should have spent more time creating original content and given my sources more accurate credit. I'll be much more careful with my posts in the future, especially when it comes to citing other people's work.
While I am aware of and accept the consequences of my actions, I sincerely hope that with time and work I may overcome these transgressions and win back the trust of both the people I injured and other members of the Hive community. This is my first instance of plagiarism and it will undoubtedly be my last. I adore the Hive community and would appreciate the opportunity to share my original stuff there.
Thank you very much for your time and your consideration.

I'm so happy to know you love this post. I'd like to invite you to follow my blog writing about my interesting journey to explore Asian cities. <333

Hi @kgakakillerg .
Thanks for supporting me all the times.
I sadly admit that in this post I recycled some mentioned contents without giving them the proper credit. You put your trust in me and expected me to be honest with my provided content, but I let you down. I sincerely apologize for disappointing you.
This is my first instance of plagiarism and it will undoubtedly be my last. I'll be much more careful with my posts in the future, especially when it comes to citing other people's work.
Thank you so much.