2024: El Salvador Devine Mercy Hills

in Pinmapplelast month (edited)

Hi hivers 🙋

It was a travel I won't forget, a treasure in my memory. I was on a trip to Cagayan de Oro to fulfill a dream to visit the Devine Mercy Hills. It was spontaneous travel, I didn't plan it would happen. I didn't expected that through newly found friend I would be able to visit that place where I always wanted to come long before.

I arrived at Laguindingan Airport via Philippine airlines at seven pm. I could still remember the travel time was quick. I was not able to finish eating the complimentary green peas and there I was at Cagayan in about thirty minutes.

IMG_20240222_211708.jpg

The host were hospitable. They provided us shelter on my three days stay. I was grateful because they were the instrument God provides for me at that time. The house they opened and the foods they served, my heart is full of gratitude.

IMG_20240223_101506.jpg

It was a little pilgrimage of three.
It happened that the sister of the friend of my friend was coming home from abroad which is in El Salvador City. It is where the Devine Mercy Hills located. The house was so near we could ride racal or tricycle to abd fro. So unexpected or I might say it was meant to be. I was destined to be on that place at that time. Gods timing I felt it was.

IMG_20240223_114047.jpg

On that Friday morning we went to the hill. First stop was to the lighting of candles. It was still early for the services at the Pilgrim site. The mass was so early in the morning which we couldn't catch so we had to wait for the afternoon mass.

IMG_20240223_115421.jpg

We had some exploring to do since the area is huge. The shop is near the entrance where you can buy religious stuff, it would be ideal to buy when you enter so after the mass, it would be bless.

IMG_20240223_125422.jpg

The place was quiet, serene. A place to retreat. We entered the adoration chapel and prayed as much as we could. It was the place where you and your God meet. A place to surrender everything you are holding onto. A place of giving and receiving.

received_2126753211012767.jpeg

The outside was a chapel and the mass would be at 2pm. We were to climb up the rays of Jesus image. There was an orientation first before climbing to the heart above. The stairways was quiet step. Taking photos while climbing the stairs is not allowed. Up above His open heart, I could only mumble so many thank yous. The winds was strong up there.

received_418128780741342.jpeg

We headed down for there were other pilgrims in queue. It can only accommodate one person at a time up. The garden below was huge. Bougainvilleas were blooming. The place is huge facing the sea, quiet a sight. There at the garden below we took photos as much as we wanted. We were stunned the sun was not that hot for the day. There was a confession too before the mass. There I ready my heart and soul for a renewal it needed.

IMG_20240223_132904.jpg

The mass ended, it was the best that I had. A solemn prayer, serenity that I long for, I found. The peace and forgiveness. The acceptance is embrace.

We went back the host house filled with renewed mind and spirits.

If you are a Catholic looking for a place of retreat and a place for a complete renewal, this is the place. It is such a gem in the Cagayan de Oro. I believe I was called to be there, I have always wanted to go the first time I encountered it in a pamphlet when I was a teenager. That pamphlet was issued during its inauguration. I wish I could still hold that pamphlet, I could no longer tell the story of how it was built as they documented it. What I was reminded was the place was chosen and it was built because God instructed some people who served from the Chapel by dreams. They believed and acted and achieved something magnificent.

Happy Easter 🐇 everyone.

Images are mine taken with Vivo 1901
YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQMyYeBGfuHbi9JYtoJBbwxW3TSwNfXLPtaY63M6qLCg8RAT2eD227LfggRLbUd5agfPYBnwWDE1x4E1rVFzK6z5bo2zjAuQXZ2k361w4pcnkj4T4oEvDr6 (1).png

Asean Hiver. Hive Ph. Islander Journal.Ladiesofhive. Loves Reading and sharing thoughts and experiences.

Sort:  

Congratulations @amayphin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!