You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CORNWALL; WALKING IN THE LAND OF THE GIANTS.

in Pinmapple4 years ago

That was a really cool post! I enjoyed the pictures, and the commentary.
Where I live in the U.S., in Upper Michigan, those beef pies are known as pasties. They're a big deal around here. It is said that they were brought to this area by the Cornish people who came here to work in the iron mines, and the copper mines further north by Lake Superior.

Sort:  

Indeed, you will find pasties all over the world, the Cornish invented them and couldn't live without them as they traveled the globe. The chunky crust was not for eating back then, it was a handle to hold then throw away after, as tin miners had poison from the metal ore on their hands and no real means of sanitation underground.

Interesting about the crust! That's something I didn't know. I don't eat the "handle" myself, too crusty.

Guilty, I do I love a bit of pastry.