You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Two directions from which to choose

in Pinmapple4 years ago

I've never been. But I've read several posts by people I respect and seen their photographs. I am deeply affected every time.

The sheer industry of killing people. Productivity of the keepers goes up every year as measured in body count per person employed. If it were a modern factory the numbers would be celebrated.

Fear is the enemy. For us all, every one.

I just noticed from your photos a 'new thing'(to me). They didn't electrify every wire. They used a not easily figured pattern to become more efficient at that small aspect. Deep breath.

Thanks Taraz. It desperately needs to be spoken those words that should be never said. I appreciate hearing them again.

Sort:  

The efficiency was amazing, paralleled by the cruelty. The depth of knowledge on human behavior was something that stood out to me - the design for control was incredible. Every detail was meticulously engineered.

It gets worse every time I look at them, but I think I will always return. One day, I hope to visit with my wife or in many years, my daughter.

You may not watch films, but I saw one recently called The boy in the striped pyjamas, based on a book of the same name by John Boyne. Worth a look.

I pick them pretty carefully, and not to motivated toward movies but I'll put it on the list.

So I just went and looked. It's definitely on the list now. I'm going to ask my guy @notacinephile about the book. He's read everything of note in this century, I think.

@bigtom13 Unfortunately, I haven't read much of the 21st century. Mostly late 19th and early to mid 20th I'd say. However, I have only seen praises for this book.

Although, I have seen the film and it is quite extraordinary and powerful. A poignant tale of two young boys from two sides of the fence (fence of the camp) that focuses on a simpler yet powerful relationship to represent all of humanity.
If you can manage the time, do see it.

OK then, so it is definitely on my list. Now the question is book first or movie first? Decisions, decisions.

I always lean toward book, but we will see...

I feel like you can go about it either way and I usually find stuff to cherish in both cases. :D

It's a powerful movie Tom, well acted by the little kid too. Worth a look...I'm waiting for the book to arrive...I think it would be fascinating and much better than the movie but the movie will suffice too. Let me know how you go.