Pinnacle Of Hiking

in Pinmapple2 years ago

pinn_1.jpg

I was going to go for a #wednesdaywalk today but I woke up with a headache and decided to pass on that and edit photos from last week's walk.

pinn_2_copy.jpg

Last week I headed down the highway to Berea, Kentucky to hike the Pinnacles and see if I could catch some of the fall colors. Anybody know what time dusk is? Me neither. Probably should ask the bear...

pinn_3_copy.jpg

The trail is in a private forest owned by Berea College just a little ways outside of town. There's actually two pinnacles, east and west, along with various other points and lookouts atop the ridge.

pinn_4_copy.jpg

The trail is a five mile or so loop with the going being a bit steep until you get near the top of the ridge. Once you make it up top it's levels out a good bit.

pinn_5_copy.jpg

For some reason the couple that set out just ahead of me felt that this lovely bit of nature was a bit lacking in the shitty country music department. Fortunately they'd brought along a portable speaker and remedied this rather loudly. Note to self: Add firecrackers to hiking gear

pinn_6_copy.jpg

A fork in the trail allowed me to part ways with the auditory litterbugs and once I was certain they were heading east I headed to the Indian Fort lookout.

pinn_7_copy.jpg

There was a bit to see...

pinn_8_copy.jpg

Highest elevation on the trail is around 1500 feet above sea level. Not sure how high the cliffs I was standing on were though.

pinn_9_copy.jpg

*Pretty sure I can see my house from here...

pinn_10_copy.jpg

Step in the crack, break ya back! This was the only concession to safety that I encountered. Wonder what happened to get them to put the bars there in the first place?

pinn_11_copy.jpg

Once I'd had my fill of the lookout I headed for the East Pinnacle. Much easier going than the first leg of the hike.

pinn_12.jpg

I've been here a few other times to shoot the fall colors but it always ended up being grey and overcast. This time that was not the case at all, and the bright sun helped make up for the cool temperatures (50s F).

pinn_13.jpg

As I drew close to the pinnacle I started to be able to hear something other than the breeze. Sonuvabitch! The country-playing cretins had beaten me there. Why do we not have man-portable EMP weapons yet?

pinn_14.jpg

I cough in your general direction! I may not be French but that seemed to work...

pinn_15.jpg

There were several vultures circling below me, which was a bit different.

pinn_16.jpg

I may or may not have lost track of time and taken lots of photos...

pinn_17.jpg

Eventually the sun sank low enough that I noticed and still nary a notion as to when dusk actually was I took my leave of the pinnacle and headed downhill.

pinn_18.jpg

Kept having to stop and shoot 'just a little bit more!' Somehow my SD cards ended up full and I had to delete some just to snap these last shots.

pinn_19.jpg

As I got back to the trailhead I came upon something that might have come in handy earlier...

pinn_20.jpg

Oh well, still a lovely hike.

Sort:  

Did someone say litterbug?

🤣🤣🤣

Not the kind you're familiar with but I wouldn't put that past those yahoos either...

It's such a breathtaking view. I hope you enjoyed it a lot there.

It really is. I've been there plenty of times but it just keeps drawing me back, always have a blast hiking and shooting there. Thanks for dropping by!

I 🖤 walkin' sticks.

Me too! I'm really good about forgetting to bring one though. Had to improvise and use my tripod as a walking stick a few times 😂

I bet there's a decent market for tripod walking sticks...

Possibly, if you can figure out how to keep the sand and dirt from getting into them and gumming everything up 😅

Hi @coloneljethro, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Many thanks!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!