A ride through the Tramuntana

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)


Several weeks ago, I published one of my travel experiences two years ago when I had the opportunity to make a whirlwind visit to the island of Mallorca in Spain. At that time, I told about a quick walking tour around some of the city's highlights in A Sunday morning in Palma de Mallorca.

My trip to Mallorca was only three days. Still, the second day we made a small excursion to one of the island's great attractions, the Serra Tramuntana, a mountain range located east of the island, which is the most important mountain range of the Balearic Islands. It has beautiful landscapes and is one of the leading destinations for those who visit Mallorca. Today I will tell you about the ride we did through it.

So the only full day I would spend on the island during my stay, we took the car and drove a stretch of the road that crosses the Tramuntana mountains, from Andratx to Sóller.

Our starting point was Port D'Andratx, where my cousin lives. A small coastal village with a natural harbor. From what I was told, the town used to be a fishing village, but it lives mainly from tourism nowadays.

Port d'Andratx Collage.png Port D'Andratx

My visit was in December 2019, so there was not much activity; many spots were closed for the season, but still, we took a short walk exploring the place.

From there, we took the winding road through the mountains to Sóller, leaving the highway for the return.

On one of the stretches of the road that runs along the coast, one of the most impressive views is the Torre del Verger, also known as Bayanbulfar. This is one of the many watchtowers still in place in Mallorca. And it is the most well-preserved of its kind on the island.

Bayanbulfar_2.jpg Bayanbulfar

We took a stop here to enjoy the breathtaking views. It's supposed to be a great spot to enjoy the sunset. However, we pass by there in the morning. I guess that's one of the many excuses I could come up with for wanting to explore the place again, go for the sunset sometime.

Bayanbulfar_Collage.jpg Bayanbulfar and the amazing view from that point

Following the route, the road goes away from the coast into the mountains and crosses some olive groves. The scenery is beautiful, and I think many of those olive trees have been there for many years.

OlivesCamp_Mallorca.jpgOlive groves on the Tramuntana road

And then we approached the place where we had planned to make a stop, Valldemossa.

LlegandoValdemossa.jpgApproching Valldemossa, Tramuntana road

Valldemossa is said to be the most beautiful village in the Tramuntana, and I don't know if it is true because I couldn't visit the others, but this is a really gorgeous town. It makes you want to spend hours walking through its narrow streets or sitting in a café watching life go by.

Valdemossa_Collage1.pngValldemossa

We visit the gardens of La Cartuja, which is a palace and one of the emblematic buildings of the village. Famous also for having been a place of inspiration for Chopin.

 La Cartuja.jpgLa Cartuja of Valldemossa

We walked through many of the town's streets, snooping here and there.

Valldemossa_Collage2.jpgValldemossa

Leaving Valldemossa, we set off towards Sóller, where we had planned to take the freeway back to Port d'Andratx.

But first, the road passes through Deià; here, we did not stop. This village is the favorite of celebrities where many have a home. So this is the favorite spot in Mallorca for the rich and famous.

Deia.jpgTramuntana road near Deià

Sóller turned out to be a bigger town; it didn't capture much of my interest; we were in the town center, where the church and a square are. But because it was the winter season, everything was closed; I guess it must be nicer in summer, and we did not go through the area close to the coast.

Soller.jpg Sóller

Back to Port d'Andratx, I had to take this picture of the ducks swimming in the harbor; maybe they were welcoming us.

Port d'Andratx.jpg Port D'Andratx

And this was all, a ride that left me wanting to return someday to explore in depth and at another time of the year to enjoy some of the many coves in this part of Mallorca's coast.

If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading.

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin

You can find me at

Noise.CashRead.CashTorumTwitter

January 11, 2022

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #1441.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you very much, @LivingUKTaiwan, for the support and appreciation!

I will be sure to drop by to the rest of the posts of the Travel Digest #1441

I have been there a few times, another one on a coffee world tour Eli 💙

A world coffee tour with you is at the top places on the list, Ed. Although, it could be anywhere as long as we have that coffee someday ;) 💙.

Yes it is a given Eli 💙

Wow @coquicoin I've never heard of those places before, it looks so beautiful there, this is what I like about Hive, one gets to see wonderful places abd meet lovely people, looks like you had great fun.Thank you for sharing.

You are welcome, @artywink! I also love that from Hive, meeting people worldwide, learning, sharing experiences, and virtual traveling to so many beautiful places. Thank you for stopping by :)

That's an awesome trip you had amiga. It is great to see all your amazing photos. The olive groves look aged! I wonder how old they are :)

Those olive trees give the feeling of having been there forever.

They do sis! Fascinating!

This post is amazing dear @coquicoin, how beautiful places are in Palma Mallorca.😍
I enjoyed your travel really!
I immediately recognized the town of Sóller, my sister with her family had been there recently!
Congratulations my friend, I wish you much more success on Hive!
I like it better than noise.cash.

Thank you, Judit!
I'm loving Hive, jeje. These days I have not been able to post in Noise, I want to take it up again, but sometimes there is not time for everything. In the meantime, we'll keep reading each other here.🤗

I think the noise.cash will end slowly.
Half of the members have left the platform, I also get very few FT, I can’t work there.
See you soon here! 😍

I'm sorry to hear that. The problem with Noise is that it relies on just one benefactor, and the drop in BCH price could be affecting it. See you around! 😊

Beautiful photos. Interesting place. Lovely ❤️💕

Thank you! :)

I admire the ability some people have to remember their past in such detail. I admire their capacity and it is worrying mine. 😫

Beautiful images, the one I liked the most is where there is the presence of animal life, that catwalk kitten.

Greetings my friend @coquicoin, congratulations, great publication

Thank you, Ana Maria! I like to write travel blogs, I always thought about having a travel blog, and now I can document many experiences. I'm glad you liked it, and I also like the image of that black cat. :) Saludos!

You really need to take me there, amiga!!!!

I would love to go there with you and Eylz, amiga! xoxo

That'd be awesome, amiga!!!

it seems to be a nice place to vistit, I really liked a lot. I think that in Europe the villages are more beautiful than big cities in Europe.

Nice pictures

Thank you! I believe that both cities and towns have their charm, but each one in a different way. The good thing is to know how to enjoy what each place offers.

Yeah, I think you're rigth

I saw a bicycle hanging on the wall, how about that. is the bike not used anymore?

How nice that you noticed the bike; I was so struck by it when I saw it and wondered the same thing, but then I saw that it wasn't just there. Flats in some old houses in the village are tiny, and for lack of space, people hang the bike like that. I don't know if it's practical, but it's ingenious.

All those places look pretty cool, Deià has a pretty peculiar place, there are a lot of trees around, is it a village in a jungle? XD

All the pics are pretty dope. Amazing work!

Thank you very much!
Deià seems to be in a privileged place; for lack of time, we did not stop there, but for something, celebrities chose it as their favorite place. ;)

This post kind of triggers my longing to travel even if I am not even sure if I'm ready quite yet. Leaving the Spain also strikes very familiar, especially to the Mediterranean where I used to live before

Writing it definitely triggered my longing to travel, hehe :)

Congratulations @coquicoin! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from day 10

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Beautiful landscapes and infrastructure 😍

Thank you for stopping by :)

You're welcome! Looking forward to seeing beautiful pictures.

Love the photos - especially the olive grove. Those trees look really old!

They gave me the feeling of having been there forever, thanks for stopping by.

My favorite are the ducks in the picture. It's so beautyful

Yep, I loved them too.

The picture with the sheep reminds me of the north of Ibiza 😀

I have never been to Ibiza, but the landscapes may be similar. Both are Balearic Islands.

Ibiza is as magical as Mallorca or even more 🙂 but it is also personal thing ☺️

beautiful pictures

Thank you!

I was fascinated by the photo of the ducks in the water, they look so adorable

I love that pic too. Thank you for stopping by!

Me encanta Mayorca, estuve una vez y espero volver pronto, preciosas fotos.

Gracias! A mi también me encantaría volver a visitarla, espero que puedas volver pronto :)

Hy, amazing places and cool pics!
Cheers!

Thank you, cheers!

beautyful photos!!!

Thank you!

this picture very beautyful. tks for share.

You are welcome!

beautiful photos. lovely

Thank you!

Great trip and great post! Love it!

Thank you very much! :)