And I Saw My Reflection in a Snow-Covered Lake (but fortunately no avalanche brought it down)

in Worldmappin2 years ago

It's been a minute since Pilot and I have gone on any big adventures. Gas prices are high, bank accounts are low, and I'm not interested in what the interest rate on my credit card will do to my blood pressure and my self-esteem if I put another road trip on the bill.

Fortunately, we live next door to a beautiful volcano with plenty of hiking trails. We took advantage of a somewhat sunny Monday and went on a 90 minute road trip. Headed for the hills.
DSC_8871 1.JPG
There is a beautiful hike off Highway 26 that goes to Mirror Lake. It is named such because on a clear blue day it reflects the lovely Mt. Hood. I hadn't hiked the trail since before my little guy existed, so me and said little guy decided to check it out.
DSC_8867.JPG
This is a high traffic trail, even in rainy weather. But apparently not on a Monday, and not when the trail is under four feet of snow pack.

You think I'm exaggerating, don't you.
Well I'm not.
This is a bridge. The kind with railings that go up to the average person's chest. It's filled to the brim.

DSC_8874.JPG
This is a big deal for someone who grew up in Southern California.

We had to cross a lot of these.
Some of them were icy snow paths less than a foot across that had melted away on either side. While there was no real risk of me falling into the ravines below, there was significant risk of slipping and wedging myself between snow and bridge and breaking all kinds of bones. I didn't, though. And neither did Pilot.
DSC_8876.JPG
The hike was beautiful. It was also unnerving, being out there alone with all that snow.
DSC_8887.JPG
I didn't grow up with snow, and I don't have a ton of experience hiking in it, especially not when it's this deep. Lots of switchbacks on slippery slopes. With each step I took I wondered if it would send me and Pilot plummeting into some hidden snow cave or rolling down the hill like a humandog snowball. Getting randomly pummeled by snow falling from trees wasn't very reassuring, either. I was nervous. Pilot was nervous, too. He hiked with a let's-get-this-over-with attitude.
But the fear was thrilling.
And the views gorgeous.
DSC_8891.JPG
And we got to see our first ever snow giraffe grazing on a frosty stump in its natural environment.
DSC_8889.JPG
When we got to the top...
DSC_8899.JPG
DSC_8896.JPG
...we were the only human and dog there.
DSC_8903.JPG
DSC_8914 1.JPG
DSC_8910 1.JPG
We couldn't see the mountain, but Pilot didn't care, and I wasn't about to get mad at nature for doing its thing. It does it much better than I ever could.
DSC_8911.JPG
I mean, if you're gonna obscure a mountain view with clouds, this is pretty much the way to do it.
DSC_8907.JPG
And you'll get to see the mountain in a minute.

It was cold up there. Even in the sun, it was below freezing. Still, I didn't want to miss the chance to soak up the solitude. I pulled my little guy onto my lap and sat there in the snow for as long as I could. Until my ass turned into snow globes.
It felt good. Not the freezing my ass off part, but the quiet and basking in the beauty with my buddy part.
DSC_8901.JPG
DSC_8905.JPG
DSC_8897.JPG
Then we crunched and slid and shuffled our way back down the hill to the car and headed over to attend a quick cult meeting with the ravens before driving up to the timberline to catch the sunset and prove to all of you that there really is a volcano in my backyard.
DSC_8960.JPG
The mountain was feeling shy, but no matter. You're still gonna dig these photos of her.
DSC_9015.JPG
See? Toldja. She's gorgeous, even when she plays hard to get.
DSC_9022.JPG
I'm not sure why western Oregon isn't famous for its amazing sunsets. We get tons of them. This kind of beauty should be common knowledge. Written in textbooks! Spoken on the lips of children! Or some shit like that.
DSC_9036.JPG
DSC_9030.JPG
But no matter. More beauty for me and Pilot, I suppose.
DSC_9032.JPG
There's really not much more to this tale of modest adventure other than Pilot and I driving back down the mountain in baby pink and blue light and cursing our popping ears.
DSC_9028.JPG
And finding out later that we had gone hiking on a High Avalanche Danger day.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

DSC_9033.JPG

Sort:  

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1509.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Yay thanks so much @livinguktaiwan!

OMG, hiking on a High Avalanche Danger day? I was thinking you only needed snowshoes. I was also thinking how it sounds to be in the woods like that. Your photos make me feel as if I'm walking there. I get the creep out factor. One heck of a mountain, beautiful! How long does it take you to drive up there?

Just stunning photos as always and that RAVEN! Maybe it's just the light, but I can see a difference in the colour of the feathers in this photo.

I think the avalanche danger was mostly on the mountain above the tree line, for skiers. The only reason I found out was because I had a dream about an avalanche a couple nights later. I checked the news just to make sure it wasn't one of those weird psychic situations, and that's how I learned about that day. Truth be told, I don't think I was in any danger of an avalanche in the area where I was hiking. But then what do I know about snow?

Ravens do have iridescent feathers, just like crows. It tends to come out pretty nicely in photos in the right light.

Drive takes about an hour and a half.

The only reason I found out was because I had a dream about an avalanche a couple nights later.

That's interesting. I'm not all that familiar with avalanche territory, probably depends on the avalanche but more so a concern where the skiers are as you've said. Not a bad driving time to get there, well worth it.

This shot of the raven the iridescence is noticeable, love that one.

There will be more raven photos soon...

YAY! Looking forward to them.

First of all I'm gonna compliment pilot's coat. It's super cool for his furry skin. Also your images are mesmerizing, makes me feel like hitting the road and doing some crazy things.

Thank you! Pilot hates that coat. It's like a fat suit. But he understands its purpose and wears it willingly in the snow.
You should definitely hit the road and go nuts. As far as I know, you only live once.

Yeah! We definitely live life once and one should take good advantage of the opportunity while it last. Thanks a million for the feedback

The photos are so good to look upon. Textured, snow, and crispy trees, they all look beautiful. It's thrilling Hike for sure with no experience. But, it must have been lively times for pilot & you.
Viewing the photos multiple times. So good.

Thank you! The photos were super fun to edit, too. A good challenge all around. Next time I'm bringing trekking poles.

That's awesome. Looking forward to what you come up with in the future. Best wishes.

I love your dog's name. 🤩
And what a wonderland that is! Look like there was just a snowfall, the snow looks so fresh.
I remember my snowboarding instructure is also from Oregon.
Is this area covered in snow all year round?

In the summer it gets pretty dry, especially in this day and age. The mountain used to be a snowy peak, but the last few summers it has mostly melted.

I love your dog's name. 🤩

Thanks!

Love those sun shots! Pilot looks adorable in his get-up, and grouchy. Big Dog has never experienced snow, but he once had to wear a bandana, so he sends his sympathies to Pilot.

Those shadows look like a witch flipping off a crow. I trust the crow knew how to handle such disrespect.

HAAAAA!! I was just trying to get my shadow in the picture and get Pilot to pose with a dog-shaped shadow. Unfortunately, I guess we pissed off a bunch of crows.
Pilot's appreciative of all the compliments he's received on his coat, although he says it still doesn't make him like the damn thing.

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww wanna join you....so pretty...so irresponsible...sooo pretty...screw avalanches, pretty rules lol.

HAAAAAAAAAAA!!!! Yeah, in retrospect I realize I should have worn my crampons and used hiking sticks and checked the avalanche forecast, but, like I said, I don't have much experience with snow.

Join us next time!

Would have done the same lol. I was hiking through the Rockys with Molly, off trail all the time. Prob wasn't the smartest always but I made it 😄. I miss the states 😫

I WANNA HIKE IN THE ROCKIES!!!!😫

You and Joy come over and we'll go mountaineering. Just not in winter.

It must be crazy to see things with snow that normally don't have snow 😅. These photos are incredible, you have taken a great walk. Luckily there was no avalanche and no one was injured.

Where I live it's starting to get cold but there's no snow at all... Thank you for bringing us these images ❤️.

Thank YOU!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @corvidae! You received a personal badge!

Congratulations on the purchase of your NFT for Peace.
Thank you for encouraging peace in Ukraine and helping civilians who suffer from war.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy 6th Birthday to the Hive Community
Introducing NFT for Peace

Thank you @hivebuzz!

You're welcome @corvidae, that's with pleasure! Thanks for your support 😊🌹