Splendor and Solitude in the Great North Country

in Pinmapple3 months ago (edited)

Thursday, August 18th, 2022. Yukon Territory, Canada.
20240206_073616547_iOS.png


Slow drive along the Dempster Highway. Barely any cars on the road at all, save for the camper truck couple from Michigan I've been playing leapfrog with all morning.

"Lunchtime?" I hear one ask the other at a must-stop turnout.

DSC_4827.JPG

DSC_4830.JPG

Long wait at a construction stop for the pilot car. Ravens overhead. There's no rush. Nowhere to rush to. No rush hour. Just a rushing red river down below.

DSC_4835.JPG

DSC_4844.JPG

I don't need to tell you that it's beautiful out here.

You don't need to be human to be spellbound.

DSC_4849.JPG

DSC_4846.JPG

DSC_4847.JPG

Further up the road, further up the globe. So close to the top of the world but it feels like we're already there.

DSC_4851.JPG

DSC_4848.JPG

I pull us into a construction turnout. So much wide open. So much solitude it could swallow me up and I'd never know I'd disappeared.
DSC_4863.JPG

DSC_4874.JPG

Raven shows up. Wants to know if I have any food. I put a few peanuts out on the rocks. He flies over for a look, yells something, and flies away.

DSC_4867.JPG

Couple from Michigan shows up, too. They park. We talk. I resent them for disrupting my solitude. But why? I've been alone with my dog for days on end. Minimal human contact. Just me and my thoughts and fears and the wide open, lonely road.

They are gentle, the couple. Kind. Curious. Pilot falls in love. They've had great weather their entire trip here, they tell me. I've hit all the storms, I tell them, including that one near Dawson City they'd missed and dismissed as a faulty forecast. It's not fair, I think to myself, but I keep my envy in check. They're much older than I am. They've already figured their shit out. They don't need a challenge like I do to find themselves. They're already found.

This is their vacation.

This is my journey.

DSC_4859.JPG
72kph. 45mph. Speed limit is 90kph but I don't want to use the spare tire I've got strapped to my roof. We ease our way along the long dirt road and take in the sunshine.

DSC_4985.JPG

DSC_4881.JPG

The afternoon finds us at Eagle Plains, where I gas up the car for a price I don't care to think about. We eat lunch out back behind the hotel with the ravens.

At the edge of the Arctic Circle.

DSC_4875.JPG

DSC_4882.JPG

DSC_4992.JPG

And then onward and upward we go.

DSC_4995.JPG

DSC_4993.JPG


For more pictures of the Dempster Highway, click here.


CrowTube Channel
Crowstagram
NFT Crowroom
A percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community.
All the stuff (pictures, words, etc.) I put in this post and any of my other posts is mine (unless otherwise stated) and can't be used by anyone else unless I say it's ok.

DSC_4903.JPG

Sort:  

Glad you are at it again! What a lovely place. I hope the motel was the oasis it claimed to be. Little Pilot looks like the wise old man of the mountain in these pictures.

It had a great toilet! I didn't stay to check out other oasis-y aspects, but seeing as it's the only gas, food, and public plumbing for a good I don't even know how many square miles, it can claim oasis all it wants!

An oasis, indeed. And with those flags glorying in the sunlight, it probably should be renamed The Great Canadian Oasis of Toilets.

(and $7/gal gas)

Ouch.

image.png

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This images looks so amazing

Thank you!

Finding yourself in solitude, wide open plains, friendly raven and closer friend Pilot keeping good company.

Going nowhere slowly wrapped within own thoughts something I yearn to do, enjoy the journey!

@tipu curate

Thank you! I tend to do that a lot. I feel fortunate that I can.

Hope you're nice and cool under the AC right now!

Would do it in a heartbeat driving deserted roads, not a care in the world....

Another 30 minutes before AC goes off today with scheduled outage 🙃

not a care in the world

Trust me, there's plenty of care in the world to be felt when driving alone on deserted roads! 😅 But it's a nice change of pace.

Worst that can happen on lonely road is our imagination get the better of us, keep going!

Or, you know, your tire blows out at midnight and while you're changing it the boogie man shows up with a mama polar bear and her cubs...

Still safer than anywhere over here at the moment, your boogie man and bear sounds better to party with !LUV

Congratulations @corvidae! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 170000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 180000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

Wow! That’s quite a journey into solitude and vast space. The mind will speak so loud and chin this environment. Nature is powerful and breathing palpably. Love this chance to be in solitude one day.

Thanks, yeah, the mind does speak loud out in wild places like this. But it eventually runs out of things to say...

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Travel Digest #2142.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Congratulations @corvidae! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2024 Winners List

Congratulations, not only for the recognition but for the way you tell us about this trip along the Dempster Highway.
The images are beautiful and I loved that your pet was in some of them.
It is clear that you have experience and that the car is of great quality because from what you say it was a trip practically alone, except for the couple that accompanied you on the road.
Visualizing the images fascinated me and more because of my passion for nature and the geography of the countries and Canada is a very beautiful country.
Happy journey. Cheers and greetings.

Thank you for your wonderful comment! I'm glad you appreciated my dog's photos. It was his trip as much as it was mine, and I love to share his experiences.

Canada is indeed very beautiful!!!

Cheers!

View or trade LOH tokens.


@corvidae, You have received 1.0000 LOH for posting in Ladies of Hive. We believe that you should be rewarded for the time and effort spent in creating articles. The goal is to encourage token holders to accumulate and hodl LOH tokens over a long period of time.

Thanks so much @ladytoken!!

Great North Country looks like the best definition of solitude in general I think. Yet a feeling that I always chase during my trips or even for a place where to live. Crowded places and lots of people around do a 'great' job ruining nature and its properties towards people sadly.

I second that. I can't spend long periods in big cities or, hell, even indoors. Have to go outside and connect. Have to get way out there and feel scared and alive and relatively insignificant.

I also don't have to tell you that I am impressed, even through the screen, by the endless, human free space... ;)

They're much older than I am. They've already figured their shit out. They don't need a challenge like I do to find themselves. They're already found.
This is their vacation.
This is my journey.

That part, speaks to me! ...and at the same time it can be weirdly exciting to go through all the storms to figure it out:)

Thanks @kesityu.fashion!!

it can be weirdly exciting to go through all the storms to figure it out

So true!!! In the moment it can feel awful but at this point I've been through enough storms (literal and figurative) to appreciate the experience and find excitement in the terror and misery when it comes up.