You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My travel story: Namibia Day 8 (Etosha NP & Rundu) - part 7 (38 photos)

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Well it is nice, I have to be honest :)
We were at the desert as well. You can check through my blog and will find previous parts if you like.
Thank you for the compliments by the way!
Well Namibia is very expensive. On extreme tight budget it is hard as renting a car only goes over 1000$. You would have to camp of course so that won't be much and other expenses are also not extra high. But still it adds up, so our total was pretty high and that was the only downside at this travel.

Sort:  

I see, but overall it's safe, I assume? I generally camp and cook myself, the only concern is safety and accessibility. It's for sure on my top list.

Well about safetiness I can tell you only positive things.
Maybe slightly unpleasant feeling only at the capital Windhoek, but that is probably as I met African culture there for the first time and there is only place with relatively a lot of people. You will also see electric fences around the houses there, but that is standard in South African Republic for example and these two countries can not be compared safety wise (Namibia much safer!). We were warned about Caprivi strip migh also be a bit dangerous as people there are not that nice. They could put some obstacle on the road or even throw a stone at your car.
But that is really what you hear and is the worst you can get.
Only other danger there are lions :)

Camps are well maintained and no so expensive as far as I know.

I know gorgeous places you visited and Namibia should be on your list as well :)

Just another thing to add. Their local currency (same value as South African Rand) is now in great reletionship for us. When we travelled it was about 13 per 1 EUR and we were satisfied and now was 19+.