My travel story: Namibia Day 8 (Etosha NP & Rundu) - part 7 (38 photos)

in Pinmapple4 years ago

Dear Hivean friends,

We have come to the final part of my Etosha National Park travel diary. I have already shared two parts with a lot of nice wildlife photography and today I will close it up with my yield from the last day, or better say morning. Not to be too short I will add also the rest of day 8 of my travel which will be mostly sundowner cruise on Okavango Delta with some thoughts again.

g 573.JPG

After a restful sleep in luxury Mokuti Lodge we took advantage to visit the park soon after sunset which is the hour when they open the gates of Etosha National Park. We had only half a day available as we had to do about 5 hours long drive to Rundu where our next stop for the overnight was.
We had only few waterhole planned for the morning, but enough to see a lot of beautiful animals and say goodbye to one of the best experiences in my life – safari.
Only half day can be enough to see cheetah cubs, amazing giraffe scenery, , lion pride, hyenas, baby oryx and much much more…
There was kind of a mixed feelings when I went out of the park for the last time and the guards searched my vehicle for the last time just to be sure I am not poacher.
At that time there was still no space for emotions and clear thinking of what I saw and experience through the last few days. That came after I returned to my homeland. At the first I would say that my safari experience was noting truly special, but more time is passing by, more I know how amazing it actually was and how much I enjoyed every single moment. I knew I will be back to safari one day and I really was, and I know that I will be back to Etosha as well. I simply have to take my new family to that place. It is really a paradise place!

There is not much else to share with you, I will repeat myself and say lets the photography speaks for itself when we are in the wild…

g 557.JPG

g 552.JPG

g 572.JPG

g 576.JPG

e 197.jpeg

g 581.JPG

g 588.JPG

g 590.JPG

g 591.JPG

g 592.JPG

e 214.jpeg

g 597.JPG

g 601.JPG

g 607.JPG

g 618.JPG

g 568.JPG

g 609.JPG

g 617.JPG

g 610.JPG

g 571.JPG

g 550.JPG

Quite an extensive photography collection will tell the story behind our stop in Rundu as well, but I will also write a few words. After being connected with the wildlife for the past three days I get in touch with people there again. If you are with me on this Namibian travel from the first part you know how amazing people there are and I didn’t have time to miss them while I was in safari, but when I met them again I knew that people will be written all over my heart when trip will be finished.
Rundu is quite a big city for the standard in Namibia, but still much undeveloped. We had our accommodation a bit out of the city and there people are still walking kilometers and kilometers to get water, for which we (Europeans) can not say is fresh. Water is coming from the river Okagvango or they have some custom made waterholes from time to time. It is very interesting to watch people there taking advantage of the river. Some were brushing their teeth, others were doing their laundry, third were just playing and some were fishing.
OK fishing in the river sounds the most “normal”, but here come the catch :)
They were catching fishes with bare hands! Nothing else… Come on, I have never seen that before. The guy jumped from the small boat and dive, when he came back up he had a fish in his hands! Crazy, what kind of skills have they developed in order to survive. I can not imagine getting fish without paying for it on the marketplace.
People there were again full of joy full of happiness; they were all waving to us. That kind of fills you with good, positive energy and it is totally different from many times when we are in our everyday environment filled with bad mood and pressure. You can tell that kind of a holidays, really holidays for your soul.

I will add just one thing, but don’t tell the police…
I was illegally in Angola :) Okavango River is a border between Namibia and Angola and our guide took us to the other side that we can check another country on our list of countries visited :) They also did signage for photography and young adorable choir sing a song for good night.

g 630.JPG

g 636.JPG

g 642.JPG

g 639.JPG

g 640.JPG

g 643.JPG

g 645.JPG

g 646.JPG

g 648.JPG

g 652.JPG

g 653.JPG

g 657.JPG

e 215.jpeg

Before we fell to sleep we anyway had to eat something and our hosts in Nkwazi Lodge took care for that perfectly with dinner at the fireplace. Good culinary as typical for Namibia was a great closure of day 8 on our travel and one of the last nights in Namibia…

g 632.JPG

g 631.JPG

g 659.JPG

That is all for this part of my Namibian Travel story. Hope you enjoyed this part as well. Rehive it if you like it in order to reach as many people possible, to show them all the beauties Namibia has to offer.
I think you should really ask you a question from the community name – Have you been here? And additional one – Why not?

Have a great rest of your day and HIVE ON!!!

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The spots of the giraffes are very beautiful. And their tall stature has always interested me. Some people say that because giraffes are trying to catch the leaves of the trees, their neck lengthened in time.

Yes, I believe in Darwin's evolutionary theory.
Thanks to time which passed giraffes are even nicer now I had opportunity to catch them with my camera.

Thanks for stopping by and best regards!

I thank you. Please keep taking such beautiful pictures.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you very much for the support!

You are welcome. 🙂

My friend...you traveled really great places and you took wonderful pictures...

Have a great day my friend...

Thank you for your kind words!

I had luck to see quite a lot, but wish to see much more in the future.

All the best!

Looks like an awesome adventure! Beautiful pictures. Thanks for sharing.

You are welcome! Thanks for stopping by...

This is awesome! @haveyoubeenhere I have never been there Lol!
Did you actually took those photos staying close to Lions?

Well not yet :) Who know what the future holds...
I took all the photos, but I was not close, or better say I was protected by my car :)

Awesome pictures @haveyoubeenhere oh! I have not been there Lol!
I wondered where you stayed to take pictures of the Lions and Cubs.
Great photography!

This is a super wow post my friend.
So many photographs, beautiful and rare. Starting from the giraffe to the sunset view. I loved each and every photo very much. Two zebras they look so beautiful, wish you had a chance to position your camera to ground level.
The hyenas the cheetah and the ducks (not sure what they are called) on roads 😆 and that picture where you have the giraffes deer and zebras drinking water from single source, reminds me of the recent jungle books scenes.

Love the sunset view and the golden clouds you captured. And not to forget the kids made the post look different and special. It's a wonderful trip and a for me a virtual trip. 👌👌

Thank you my friend!

Glad you like this series so much. It is one of my favourite travels if not the favourite.
About camera to the ground level, hmmm I like my life too much to risk getting out of the car as if you can see a lot of lions photos, they are always somewhere around :)

Oh Namibia is so beautiful. :-)

Yes it is, but also some local place in your or my homeland is beautiful. We just have to see it with that kind of eyes.
World is beautiful...

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #896.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you
Thank you
Thank you
.
.
.

Wow! Great!

Thank you :)

Ooo I think a safari would be a great experience. Loved all the photos, especially with the wild animals.

Catching fish with bare hands? Oh my, that is quite something. I loved the roof and the overall look of the lodge.

Thanks for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by!
Seeing animals in the wild is something special, especially with animals which are "exotic" for us.

Have a great one!

Oh yeah, it must be great! Have a lovely day!

Holy moly! This is another level! Once I read a romance book that passed around Namibia more towards the desert. Astonishing place and pictures!

How's it like there? is it possible to ciclotour on an extreme tight budget?

Well it is nice, I have to be honest :)
We were at the desert as well. You can check through my blog and will find previous parts if you like.
Thank you for the compliments by the way!
Well Namibia is very expensive. On extreme tight budget it is hard as renting a car only goes over 1000$. You would have to camp of course so that won't be much and other expenses are also not extra high. But still it adds up, so our total was pretty high and that was the only downside at this travel.

I see, but overall it's safe, I assume? I generally camp and cook myself, the only concern is safety and accessibility. It's for sure on my top list.

Well about safetiness I can tell you only positive things.
Maybe slightly unpleasant feeling only at the capital Windhoek, but that is probably as I met African culture there for the first time and there is only place with relatively a lot of people. You will also see electric fences around the houses there, but that is standard in South African Republic for example and these two countries can not be compared safety wise (Namibia much safer!). We were warned about Caprivi strip migh also be a bit dangerous as people there are not that nice. They could put some obstacle on the road or even throw a stone at your car.
But that is really what you hear and is the worst you can get.
Only other danger there are lions :)

Camps are well maintained and no so expensive as far as I know.

I know gorgeous places you visited and Namibia should be on your list as well :)

Just another thing to add. Their local currency (same value as South African Rand) is now in great reletionship for us. When we travelled it was about 13 per 1 EUR and we were satisfied and now was 19+.

Wonderful post, as you said it is really a paradise place 😇
Your lodge was very nice and animals were just majestuous wow. I really love African animals so much.
I have also once made a "free" car-safari in South Africa it was memorable, I have kissed a baby lion 😍

Thank you for stopping by @misschance!

Africa is a really great place. I had an amazing time while visiting...

Kissing baby lion is brave :)

You are very welcome @crazy-andy, I have seen some of previews posts about your travel story and it was amazing. Yes, Africa is wonderful, thanks to share.
I was not confortable to kiss him but I made it 😇