Traversing Mt. Babag: A Tale of Challenges and the Lessons Embraced

in Pinmapple8 months ago
Every time we went on a hike and talk about hiking experiences with my friends who have been active in this activity for a long time, they always mentioned that the Babag trail is one of the most challenging trails a hiker can experience in Cebu City, due to its continuous elevation.


Babag is a mountain Barangay that many hikers, runners, and outdoor enthusiasts choose for its challenging trails and numerous exit options.

After several hikes, we finally mustered the courage to embark on a day hike along the challenging trail we had been talking about: BABAG TRAIL.

Let's go to Mt. Babag!

The alarm clock rang, prompting me to get up and prepare. I left my home and rode a jeepney to our meeting point with my fellow hikers at Guadalupe Church. Upon arriving at the location, I spotted two of my friends enjoying their breakfast. I joined them, and together, we waited for the others. Once everyone had arrived (except for Alton, who would be joining us later due to some delay), we bought some trail snacks and then looked for a motorbike to take us to the jump off in Sitio Napo. Each of us paid 30 pesos for the fare.

Everyone was already excited to begin the challenge, so we wasted no time and started walking right away.

The morning sun greeted us with a warm smile, the pleasant chirping of birds filled the air, and the gentle flow of the river was relaxing. I felt energized and ready to face the upcoming challenges that awaited us in this adventure.


Our first stop was the river. We took a break, capturing photos and videos, and had a quick chat while waiting for Alton to join us. Given Alton's experience with trail running, there was no need to worry; he's fast, and we didn't have to wait long for him. When he arrived, he was sweaty and slightly out of breath, so we continued to relish our time by the river, engaging in conversation.

Continuing the challenge...


The continuous steep trail truly tested our knee and leg strength. We took intermittent breaks to catch our breath and let our sweat drop to the ground. Our throats were craving something cold, specifically a cold soft drink, hehe. We usually reward ourselves with a cold soda after a challenging climb, something we also look forward to.

Finally, we reached the first household on the mountain that sold soft drinks. We stopped there and rewarded ourselves. We even made TikTok videos after having our snacks.

But we weren't done yet! More steps remained to reach the summit. This time, our energy was boosted, and we were once again ready to face the scorching sun.

Thankfully, tall trees provided shade along the following trails, shielding us from the scorching sun. As we continued along the trails, we took our time to capture pictures and videos, savoring the moment and enjoying the scenic views until we reached the summit.

After reaching the summit, we continued the trail to the exit point we had chosen. But prior to that, we took a quick break at the second store and bought another cold soda (this time, I didn't buy one, but my friend gave me half of her soda because she couldn't drink it all). Then, we headed to the Brgy Bonbon. Eventually, we ran out of water, but thankfully, there was a water source there, and we refilled our bottles.


Initially, we didn't plan to climb Bocaue Peak since we had already been there. However, since @katiemeow , Eggy, and Dodong hadn't been there before, we decided to go again since it would be their first time.

OMEGA to the Rescue!


After my knees were put to the test on the elevated trails, from Sitio Napo to Babag to Bocaue Peak, they seemed to be in pain during the downhill part already. Perhaps my knees were in shock because I suddenly threw myself into a challenging hike after almost two months of inactivity due to a busy schedule. Thank you, @mariasalve for the knee-savior OMEGA.

We were now back on the road in Barangay Pamutan, approaching Guadalupe Church once again. I found it challenging to walk downhill due to my aching left knee. To ease the strain on our knees, my friend and I did the 'Merese Walk,' a backward descent along the road.

We made a few stops along the way. We had lunch at a small barbecue store, and then we visited Amordino Farm once again to try their famous apple juice, which we paired with veggie lumpia.

We reached civilization, which indicated we were close to the church where we could find a jeepney to ride. Moments later, we were finally done with our 'die-hike,' at least for me.

Let me share with you what this hike has taught me;

  • Be consistent with the things you love.
  • Fulfillment comes with struggles.
  • Be ready for uncertainties.
  • Move and enjoy life while you can.


Thank you for reading, Hive friends!

Till my next blog!


Hello there! I'm Danah, a Marketing Services Associate by profession. I'm an adventurous person, always seeking to discover new experiences and extract valuable life lessons from each of them. I'm passionate about dancing and performing on stages in front of the crowd. I thrive on exploring the great outdoors and capturing memories.

Join me on my adventures by reading and supporting my blogs. Don't forget to follow, upvote, and leave a comment to share your thoughts. Get in touch through my PeakD, YouTube, or Instagram. 🤍

Sort:  

nalimot nako ani if diin ko ani nganu wa ko kauban wahah

Hahahaha mao ka kuya!

Congratulations @danahnatalie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you, @hivebuzz 🤍

Keep aiming higher @danahnatalie, there's no limit to what you can achieve.

I'm sure it was a fun experience, especially with the insect and mosquito bites. Experience will not pay off for free adventure.

Haha absolutely right! They make great memories🤍 Thank you for stopping by!

Ready for another "die hike"? Hehe

  1. Katawaa nako sa description ni Alton oy 🤣

  2. Omega FTW! 😅

  3. In fairness, estetik ang pa-kalo sa ASI 🤭

HAHAHAHAHAHA looking back, mahimuot jud btaw ko te🤣 Dapat nana juy Omega permi, huhu maka trauma🤣

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I am amaze with the counts of birds in the roof they are so many.😁That was a fun activity😊.

That amazed me too. That's why I immediately grabbed my phone and took a photo of the birds.☺️ Anyway, thank you for stopping by🤍

Hiya, @pinmapple here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Travel Digest #2006.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you so much, @pinmapple !!

Wow, how beautiful are these photographs. I love hiking through nature, nature is beautiful. I'm sure you would love doing this trail and if it was with good company even better. Thanks for sharing 😊

I was lucky to have great company on the trail, which made the experience even more special. Thanks for your kind words, @name0 !