Ali Al-Gharbi - Iraq - Modern Countryside

in Pinmapple2 years ago (edited)

image.png

Hello, everyone. First of all, I would like to apologize for the lack of pictures this post will have. I have recently had a crack in my phone camera the left most of my pictures looking like this.

image.png

I am slowly working myself into affording a decent camera so I could take better shots. So, without further ado, allow me to talk to you about

Ali Al-Gharbi - [//]:# (!pinmapple 33.528522 lat 45.425345 long d3scr)

Ali al-Gharbi (Translated to "Western Ali") is a district existing around 300 kilometers south of Baghdad. The district has that mix between countryside and city to it. What makes it special is that as the district slowly modernizes, it still makes a case to keep its vast spaces green.

image.png

The district doesn't have a big budget to work with so it often focuses on one project or two at most to develop. The most recent one is making a corniche by its river.

image.png

They're also the first place in Iraq with a government-funded youth center

image.png

image.png

The marketplace in Ali -al-Gharbi isn't exactly the fanciest place either, as it is basically a short street with a few shops of each thing you find a market.

image.png

The market can be simply described as efficient, it doesn't have 80 fish shops or 50 clothing stores but has one or two of everything. The efficiency mindset can also be seen in houses as well

image.png

Most houses in the district are built to be inhabited not admired. It also befits the mindset of the people who are in it, as they are mainly kindhearted, giving people, most of whom are religiously devout but never fundamentalists.

Ali al-Gharbi has that "no man left behind" mentality to it. The generosity can be seen the second you are within its range, literally. When I took a car to Ali al-Gharbi I had forgotten most of my money at home and had only what equals 8 dollars (less than half fare), the driver didn't even let me finish the sentence before he said to "Khaleeha alaya".

"Khaleeha Alaya" is an Arabic sentence which roughly translates to "Leave it on me", or "leave it to me" or simply means "I got you". And that is a sentence you better get used to it fast coming into the district because it is the sentence you will hear the most, more than "good morning", and "Hello".

If you are at a coffee shop with a friend and you took longer than half a second to get your wallet out to pay your share, too late, he already hit you with the "Khaleeha alaya" and paid the whole thing. If you don't have enough to pay for the total amount, the store owner would just activate the "Khaleeha alaya" card and forgives the rest.

People here take their hospitality duties very seriously, they feel insulted and bad if you are not 110% satisfied with an exchange with them or staying at their home. Remember how I said, I had forgotten my money when I got here? Even after I had sent it to me, I still yet to be able to pay a dime, or Dinar if you are in Iraq, And people hosting me, AND their friends feel actual anger whenever I reach for the wallet.

To Summarise

If I was, to sum up, Ali al-Gharbi as a whole with a single word, it would be trying. They are trying hard to improve life here one day and one fund at a time, they're trying hard to be the perfect hosts even though most of them are on the lower end of the middle-class. And they are trying hard to keep the community kind, loving, and peaceful.

The only you could have your peace interrupted is if you leave your house door open and wake up to find a herd of sheep and goats in your backyard. And that is not even a joke

image.png

Thank you for reading. And I promise to have more pictures in the future as right now I am limited by RC as well as my phone quality camera.

Sort:  

Congratulations @discovering-iraq! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21

Hi there @discovering-iraq welcome to Hive and great to see you make your first post on the haveyoubeenhere community.

I don't think we have many or in fact any users from Iraq so it will be interesting to learn more about your country. This community is based on the Pinmapple map https://pinmapple.com/ and that's how we curate the best travel content each day. Therefore as part of our community results we request that all post to be pinned onto Pinmapple , just click on the 'get code' at the top of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map. Hope to see you soon! Cheers

Thank you for informing me, I will try to do that now. My English is a bit weak, but I will try my best.

@livinguktaiwan, do you mind confirming whether I did it correct now?

Done, you got the auto message below confirming it now.

If you want, you can leave a spare line before and after the code and it will be invisible on your post

Will keep that in mind for the future. thanks a lot for your help.

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!