A Week in Tirol Austria: Innsbruck Old Town

in Pinmapple3 years ago (edited)

Innsbruck is the vibrant regional capital of Tirol and the fifth-largest city in Austria. If you're expecting a city filled with skyscrapers, allow me to save you from disappointment. Instead, the magnificent Nordkette Mountains dominate the skyline. They're picture-perfect backdrops to a mélange of architectural styles, old and new. The city appears more to be a massive village.

If I were to describe Innsbruck as a person, imagine someone who is naturally sophisticated without trying, but is fit and rugged whenever he or she needs to be.

View from the Roof Deck of 5th Floor Bar of The Penz Hotel

It all started with a job interview from my corporate life many moons ago. When the managing director threw in a one-week trip to Austria to visit our headquarters for a company training, I immediately blurted out, "Where do I sign?"

Three weeks later, I was on the plane en route to Innsbruck for intensive company training.

I had never written about this trip before (neither in my personal blog) because it felt private at the time. It was surreal being a part of the team and the luxury brand.

Inn River

But when I stumbled upon these photos while I was sorting and cleaning up my laptop storage space this week, I changed my mind. I had learned so much during this trip to Tyrol, and the knowledge and experience I have gained had led to both professional and personal growth.

Here I am taking ownership of that experience and I am now freely sharing it.

Flight to Innsbruck

It was the beginning of summer. From Frankfurt, I remember flying in a small plane. Classical music played in flight. There was no need for tv screens because the view from the airplane window was enough to entertain. Not to mention the crazy air pockets that rocked the aircraft as we glided between the gigantic mountains of the Tyrolean Alps.

I suddenly remembered what my IT colleague in Dubai once told me during a pantry coffee break. He flew once in winter for a meeting and his flight to get to Innsbruck got him so scared. I breathed out a sigh of relief that it wasn't as bad as his experience.

We landed and were picked up by the company van. We drove to Wattens where our hotel was. Wattens is a small town best known for the Swarovski crystal wonderland, but I will reserve that for the next posts.

During my five years with the company, I had been to Austria twice and both were week-long trips of sales meetings and company-related activities. We were given free days to explore places on our own and after learning sessions, we were taken to local destinations with breathtaking sceneries by our co-workers from the headquarters.

Our sightseeing started here with a sneak peek of the Goldenes Dachl.

Our day of arrival was a free day for sightseeing so I met up with my new colleagues I was traveling with at the lobby. The company van dropped us off in downtown Innsbruck since it was headed back there anyway.

Here are amassed images of places we've seen in Innsbruck taken at different times during business trips there:

Things to See in Innsbruck Old Town

The good news is, Innsbruck is easily visited on foot. All the sites are within walking distance and it was lovely to walk around.

Golden Roof (Goldenes Dachl)

The Golden roof glinted from a distance as we walked along Maria Theresa Street. Innsbruck's iconic landmark at the heart of the old town features a late-gothic balcony with 2,657 fire-gilded copper tiles. It was built for Emperor Maximilian I.

Innsbruck Imperial Palace (Hofburg)

Just 3 minute walk away from the Golden Roof is the Imperial Palace, known as the Hofburg. It is considered one of the three most important cultural and historical monuments of Austria. This museum reflects the opulent lifestyles of the rulers of the Habsburg Dynasty who were previous residents of the palace.

Triumphal Arch

Each destination has its own triumphal arch and this one is Innsbruck's own landmark. It's located right at the edge of the old town. Empress Maria Theresa had it commissioned. Its 2 faces symbolize two different events.


The southern facade commemorates the marriage of her son's wedding while the northern facade sadly was attributed to the mourning of her husband's passing- Emperor Franz I.

Maria Theresien Strasse

This would probably be the liveliest and busiest spot in Innsbruck. It's a street that stretches from the Triumphal Arch right down to the Golden Roof. A promenade strictly reserved for pedestrians lined by shops, restaurants, bars, and cafes housed in beautifully preserved 17th-18th century buildings. The pastel colors against the mountain backdrop are stunning to see!

St. Anne's Column

Some find it fascinating to discover the beautiful streets riding a carriage.

Check out the colorful houses on Mariahilf

Inn Bridge (Innbrücke)

A row of charming and colorful houses stood out along the Inn River and strolling along this quiet neighborhood was one of the highlights of the trip.

Inn River and Stadtarchiv/Stadtmuseum

View from The Penz Hotel

Innsbruck residents spend their leisure hours after work outdoors. When I asked former co-workers what their plans were for the weekend, it was either hiking, mountain biking, cycling, and during the winter months, skiing. It wasn't surprising because the Nordkette mountains are accessible via the Hungerburg Funicular from the city center.

My Takeaway

Before that interview, I passed the office sign many times and wondered what it was like to work in that company. Oblivious to the fact that this wishful thinking would then be realized a couple of years later that would take me to visit Innsbruck.

Life is unpredictable. Doors close and some windows open inviting us to make choices. Looking back, there were many opportunities that I missed but I am grateful I didn't miss this one. It allowed me to realize many of my desires and aspirations.

When I see Innsbruck and Tirol, I am flooded by memories, not only of the place but of the people I met, colleagues, and mentors who made a lasting impression.

Thank you for reading. I intend to show you more of Tirol in future posts.


DiscoveringArni Profile 2.png

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @priyanarc & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Grateful to you @priyanarc and DIYHub for your support, thank you 🙂

Amazing 😍great fun trip and greetings from me hope you are always healthy there!

Hello @deltasteem, would love to re-visit, glad there's Hive to do that through writing. Thank you, hope all is well with you as well. Been living by the day,take care always

Wow Mind-blowing. Innsbruck is straight out of paintings and scenery one would hang on their walls. @discoveringarni I am happy by how you met many great people and your wonderful experience of that place. How interesting are the work trips at such a location. I would just stay there forever ;p
Wish you visit there again and I have surely added Innsbruck to my bucket list.
Have a great day <3

Hello @sahiba-rana, I thought so too. Back then, since it was a work trip, I was filled with anxiety and didn't get to enjoy the place as much as I do now when I look back and remember it. Sightseeing with the team and my bosses was fun though because it helped form a bond that helped us work together efficiently. I'd love to visit it as a tourist if given another chance. I'm sure it would ignite another perspective. I am grateful and touched you added it to your bucket list. I'd love to hear about what you think of it when that happens.

Oh I do hope you get to visit that place again as a tourist and enjoy the scenic view and relax by those colourful pitched roof Homes with the background of snowy mountains.

Thanks Sahiba, I'd really love that. Wishing you a splendid day today.

Innsbruck looks beautiful. I've been curious about that town for a while now and I've never seen pictures of it so I'm glad that you made a post about it. Looks like my kind of place. I love your description of it as being like a naturally sophisticated person without trying....etc, etc hahaha that's so good!

Hi @leaky20, with the description haha I must admit it was inspired by the personalities I have observed of Austrian co-workers and the place carried the same vibe. I think you'd very well enjoy this modern city engulfed all around by the alps and the countryside with plenty of culinary choices and lots of trails.

Sounds like my type of place for sure.

Hello friend Arni @discoveringarni I greet you from the Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela. Thank you very much for taking us for a walk to that beautiful place. I believe that you, in addition to being an academic and an excellent professional, could be a wonderful tourist guide. It would be good if you could collect all your travel experiences and publish them in a tourism book, I think it would be a success, you could also make videos where you show us the magnificence of each place visited by you. I believe in you, I believe that your experience is very important and your contribution would be great for the new generations. I motivate you to keep going. From this corner of the earthly geography I send you a strong and warm virtual hug, full of blessings, positive energy and lots of light.

Hola amiga Arni @discoveringarni Te saludo desde la República Bolivariana de Venezuela. Muchas gracias por llevarnos de paseo a ese lugar tan bello. Yo creo que Usted, además de académica y excelente profesional pudiera ser una maravillosa guía turística. Bueno sería que usted pudiera recopilar todas sus experiencias de viajes y publicarlas en un libro de turismo, creo que sería todo un éxito, también pudiera realizar videos donde nos muestre lo excelso de cada lugar visitado por usted. Yo creo en usted, yo creo que su experiencia es muy importante y su aporte sería genial para las nuevas generaciones. Le motivo a seguir adelante. Desde este rincón de la geografía terrenal le envío un fuerte y caluroso abrazo virtual, cargado de bendiciones, energía positiva y mucha luz.

Hello friend Marcos, the pleasure is mine. The last 2 years had been quite challenging for all of us, revisiting and focusing on old happy memories help me. Thank you for your wonderful and validating advice. Being a tour guide sounds fun and I'd probably enjoy it. Take care always and wishing you and your family a blessed week!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1315.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thank you @livinguktaiwan and @pinmapple team for your support. It's always a pleasure to be a part of the Travel Digest.

OH MY GOSH I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED TO VISIT AUSTRIA your post made me want to go even more😥😍Innsbruck is such a LOVELY CITY💛

untitled.gif

Hello @jongcl, thank you for dropping by. I'm curious what inspired and triggered you to want to visit Austria? As a child, it was The Sound of Music that ignited this desire for me.

Austria is known to have many beautiful alps for snow sports and someone who lives in a tropical country I ALWAYS have a fascination for snow and ever since a child, I have wanted to try snow sports😭Back in 2016 I had a Japanese student who shared her Austria travel and from then on, it has been in my Bucket list to travel this beautiful country😭😍
untitled.gif

Thank you for replying to my question and for sharing it here. Yes, for us growing up with only 2 seasons, there's just something magical about snow capped mountains. It's interesting to know about your fascination for snow and interest in winter sports. Austria is abundant with great ski slopes and Innsbruck and Tyrolean alps I heard are top-rated options to enjoy snow sports with many ski resorts and the existence of the Bergisel Ski Jump.

I hope this pandemic will end soon so that I can hopefully travel destination on my bucket list. I have always wanted to go to Europe ever since. It would be lovely to be able to go to Austria and fulfill that dream🙏🤞Thank you so much for sharing this information about Austria with me. I hope to see more of Austria via your content here😘💕

I truly hope so too 🙏 the pleasure is mine and will share more about Austria. Have a lovely day! 😊

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!