Interrail Day 5 - ๐Ÿน This Day I Fought With A Viking ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด

in Pinmapple โ€ข 3 years ago (edited)

๐Ÿน Dear HIVE Crew ๐Ÿน

There are things in life which you don't consider possible. One of these things for me was... standing in a gym... with a sward... and a shield... fighting a man with a long red beard.
But let me start in the beginning.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.07.05.png

We are still in Oslo on our Interrail Trip.
The days are short and the nights are long. So we were wondering... what are the residents of Oslo do at this late hour? Some of them seem to be into living history events. Just like me. So I asked one of them for a meeting.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.46.57.png

We planned to meet up at a train station. I didn't know who was waiting for me. I only knew that his name is: AUDUN. I wanted to chase away my stereotypical image of a Viking because I thought, it would be incorrect to be on the lookout for a tall man with a long red beard.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.47.49.png

Well, my attempt of being particularly woke and politically correct was clearly not necessary at this moment. Audun truly looked like a Viking beamed from the 10th century into today. Well, except his fluorescent jacket.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.47.15.png

He walked with us through the cold. Audun is a magnificent storyteller. He doesn't only look like a Viking. He is a true expert in the history of the Norse People. He does extensive research into their tools, craftsmanship, nutrition, and social life. Well, and maybe also the weapons are of interest for him.
๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn_Norway.png

That's why he is part of this living history group. Of course, everybody can interpret freely, how close they want to stay to the original life style of the Vikings. If you want to wear red plastic glasses in addition to your costume. Go for it. It's a very open and free-minded group. If I would be living in Oslo, I would join them!
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.51.51.png

๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn.png

They handed me a sward. I expected a fake sword. Something light, made of plastic. But no. It was a pretty solid weapon. Of course, not sharp. But still, heavy!
๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn_sword.png

I couldn't helo but striking a King Arthur pose. Every girl likes a sword. What can we do about it?
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.53.31.png

My teacher will be Audun's brother. Of course, just as red-bearded. He is wearing original clothes, fabricated in the same way as Vikings used to produce them.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.53.56.png

He is preparing me for a fight with the King of the Kinds: Audun.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.56.00.png

I was clearly moving more like a ballerina than like a warrior princess. The sword was longer than my upper body and after 10 min of training, I could feel my muscles getting heavy in my arm. Also, I was still wearing ski clothes. I forgot to take them off because I wanted to through myself right into the battle.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.56.19.png

Audun's brother clearly found my fighting attempts rather amusing. And particularly unthreatening. I really had to up my game.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.57.05.jpg

๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.58.00.png

๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.58.16.png

In a coincidental stroke of luck I hit his hand. Which meant: Victory!
๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn_Victory.jpg

๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.59.01.png

๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.59.27.png

But this was just a training battle. My real opponent was still to come: AUDUN!
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 10.59.45.png

I was confident from my first victory. Would I have a chance against the King of the Kings?
๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn_Oslo.png

"Hochmut kommt vor dem Fall" we say in Germany.
"Pride comes before the fall."
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.00.23.jpg

Our duel attracted the attention of the other Vikings. Now it's a question of honor. Audun didn't seem like he is going to play soft.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.01.35.png

๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.03.53.png

The crowd is cheering. Audun's sword is hitting hard on my shield. He is giving me no break. But I'm also not intending to give up easily. So I try to do it like a boxer. Be light on the feed, flexible, reactive.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.04.30.png

You can guess who won the battle.
๐Ÿน

Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 11.08.12.png

I guess, I must train with the Viking Army a little longer before I can fight a giant like Audun. Who would have thought that there is such a warrior behind this gentle soul.
๐Ÿน

Elena_Horn_Vikings.png

We loved meeting this group of Vikings. Learn the rules of the fight and power out all our energies. I really hope to meet them all again. Maybe in a convention. I would love to storm a castle and fight my way to the throne together with Audun.
Yes, that's the plan.
๐Ÿน

We hope you enjoyed coming along on this adventure! Keep up the fight!
โ„๏ธ

Yours,
โ‡ขElena & Ale โ‡ 

P.S.: Have you ever tried this?

Sort: ย 

What an awesome experience!!!
Have to agree with you, they both do indeed look like traditional vikings haha!
Really enjoyed the style in which you shared this story / adventure!

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Thank you so much @jaynie . I love telling the situations bit by bit as they developed in reality. Because in real life nobody of us knows which direction the moment will take. Also, it was truly amusing. I want to change career now and become a stunt girl :).

xx
@elenahornfilm

P.S.: I just joined the lifestyle lounge on Discord ! ๐Ÿ 

A stunt girl!!!! What a cool career!!!!! and by the looks of things you would be REALLY good! :)

Oh lovely! Will pop by soon!

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! ๐ŸŽ‰๐Ÿฅณ๐Ÿ

Did you know you have your own profile map?
And every post has their own map too!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Juhu @pinmapple ! Thank you very much for putting this adventure on the map! Merci, merci!

What a great swordplay and a story :)

@tipu curate

Hehe, thank you @ervin-lemark ! Have you ever tried it? It is great fun!

Nope, never. I prefer to take part in unidirectional sports :)

Have a swift Friday and a great weekend.

Hahaa, you too! Enjoy the break, dear @ervin-lemark !

Hello dear @tipu ! Thank you every such much for your support! I greatly appreciate it!

Yours,
@elenahornfilm

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #1098.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

That's great news @livinguktaiwan ! I will have a look at the post right NOW! Juhuu! xx @elenahornfilm